Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

Old 2013-03-12, 12:56

Which lever meter shows the end result?

Being a Reason newbie, I get overwhelmed by all the meters everywhere. I want a meter that shows what will end up in my exported audio (wav) file.

Having included an MClass Mastering Suite in the Master Inserts Section, I would expect that the MClass Maximizer Output level meter would show the final output. After all, the Maximizer is the last device in my MClass combo that is routed straight into the hardware interface.

Watching the big meter of the hardware interface, however, it shows levels way beyond 0 dB whereas the output level meter of the maximizer does *not* exceed 0 dB.

Why is there a difference? Which meter should I trust?

grateful for replies,
Sven
Old 2013-03-12, 13:22
Propellerhead

The meter on the Mixer Master Strip (the rightmost strip) shows the output at the Master Section Bus, i.e. the main output of the Mixer Master Section.

The Big Meter shows any input or output of the hardware interface, that is the interface to your audio driver.

If you have not changed the default routing from Mixer Master Out to Hardware Interface output 1+2, then the Big Meter and the Mixer Master Strip should show the same thing when Big Meter is set to Output 1+2.

Maybe the different scales and modes for the meters confuse you. The meter "mode" is shared between Mixer Master Section and Big Meter, i.e. changing it in one changes the other. The best GUI for changing it is in the Big Meter.

The manual and help files explain the different modes carefully.
Old 2013-03-12, 17:21

Quote:
Originally Posted by jengstrom View Post
The meter on the Mixer Master Strip (the rightmost strip) shows the output at the Master Section Bus, i.e. the main output of the Mixer Master Section.

The Big Meter shows any input or output of the hardware interface, that is the interface to your audio driver.