Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-03-12, 14:20
tagpass's Avatar
tagpass tagpass is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4
Does 7 lose the dongle?

Promo pic with the Reason Macbook amongst the modulars doesn't show an Ignition Key inserted.

Love the idea of MIDI out (finally!) in the new update, but to be honest, I've used Reason only sparingly since it's been dongled. I know the topic has been beaten to death, but I've got precious few slots left on both my Macbook and my iMac after all the MIDI devices, controllers, the Steinberg key, the iLok, my Waves license flash drive, etc. Would upgrade to 7 in a heartbeat if the Ignition Key has also been given the heave-ho... otherwise, I guess it's just on my "to be considered" list.

So... *does* 7 still require the dongle?
__________________
TP
Audio Director / Professional Noisemaker
www.jetmorgan.com
  #2  
Old 2013-03-12, 14:21
normen's Avatar
normen normen is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,465
Dongle is for the REs, you need a good copy protection when other companies are supposed to trust your shop. So.. No
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer
  #3  
Old 2013-03-12, 14:25
theshade's Avatar
theshade theshade is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 255
why would you want to lose it? it ensures that your licence cannot be ripped by some low-life on a dodgy torrent site. purchase a powered USB hub if you are running out of slots
  #4  
Old 2013-03-12, 14:50
deanc2000's Avatar
deanc2000 deanc2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 339
The dongle has never really been a problem. Yes, buy a USB hub.
  #5  
Old 2013-03-12, 15:52
rogerlevy rogerlevy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanc2000 View Post
The dongle has never really been a problem.
Ugh, even I've learned to accept and maybe even appreciate the dongle, but I hate when people deem it reasonable to say shit like this that is nakedly bullshit on its face.
  #6  
Old 2013-03-12, 15:58
adfielding's Avatar
adfielding adfielding is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,165
Any way you slice it, no dongle would be very good news for anyone using Reason or REs live.

We'll have to wait and see, won't we?
  #7  
Old 2013-03-12, 16:00
normen's Avatar
normen normen is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by adfielding View Post
Any way you slice it, no dongle would be very good news for anyone using Reason or REs live.

We'll have to wait and see, won't we?
Theres Balance for that
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer
  #8  
Old 2013-03-12, 16:10
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by adfielding View Post
Any way you slice it, no dongle would be very good news for anyone using Reason or REs live.

We'll have to wait and see, won't we?
Indeed we will. ;-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #9  
Old 2013-03-14, 14:46
belltunes's Avatar
belltunes belltunes is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerlevy View Post
Ugh, even I've learned to accept and maybe even appreciate the dongle, but I hate when people deem it reasonable to say shit like this that is nakedly bullshit on its face.
Sorry, I agree, the dongle has never really been a problem for me either. It's pretty transparent at this point. Don't know why aspersions are thrown at folks that are expressing an honest opinion in regards to their own experience. Cheers!

Last edited by belltunes; 2013-03-14 at 14:49.
  #10  
Old 2013-03-14, 15:18
junewolf's Avatar
junewolf junewolf is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 66
The worst thing about the dongle is the size. It sticks out too far and is always in danger of getting damaged when used in my laptop. Surely the technology is there to make one that is about 1/4 the current size. I've seen smaller USB sticks already, and the dongle isn't a technological powerhouse that requires the size it currently has. Of course, then there would be an influx of complaints about it being too small and easily lost...
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason dongle messes up recycle bin lakotazz Phead User Forum (read only) 29 2012-04-20 02:13
What if one day I lose my laptop or dongle? wearashirt Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2011-12-19 08:40
Can I use a CodeMeter Dongle with Reason 5? Dantastic General Forum (read only) 2 2010-08-28 19:39


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:07.