Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-03-17, 18:04
altron's Avatar
altron altron is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 158
Writing Licnses... takes forever!

Just wanted to mention this. Actually I wanted to make some music today evening still but I guess I can forget about that because Writing Licenses takes ages in Authorizer! Been running it for the third time now, bought Antidote, it takes ages for licenses to be written, eventually it tells me that it can't connect to the server, please check your Internet connection. But my connection works fine. This is quite bad!
  #2  
Old 2013-03-26, 03:50
fizbin fizbin is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 296
Yeah, the more money I give Propellerheads, the more time I spend watching the "writing licenses..." dialog, even though the licenses should already be there. Isn't once per license enough?

Seriously.

What the hell is it doing?
  #3  
Old 2013-03-26, 04:37
rogerlevy rogerlevy is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by fizbin View Post
Yeah, the more money I give Propellerheads, the more time I spend watching the "writing licenses..." dialog, even though the licenses should already be there. Isn't once per license enough?

Seriously.

What the hell is it doing?
probably generating unique encryption keys for each plugin. i think the system works by encrypting the plugin code.

but i could be wrong.
  #4  
Old 2013-03-26, 05:24
altron's Avatar
altron altron is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerlevy View Post
probably generating unique encryption keys for each plugin. i think the system works by encrypting the plugin code.

but i could be wrong.
I don't think even that would take up to 10 minutes on a 3.2 GHz quadcore i7!
  #5  
Old 2013-03-26, 07:52
fizbin fizbin is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 296
...and it's not about the time taken to write it when you first get the license for the RE. I understand that. It's the every-time-I-update-a-version-or-glance-sideways constant rewriting of licenses.

Why is one time not enough? Are we playing a shell game here?
  #6  
Old 2013-03-27, 17:56
altron's Avatar
altron altron is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 158
Remember the days when you could launch Reason and within 10 seconds you were making music?
No more with Reason 6.5!

Here's my today's experience:

1. I see there's an update for Volt CB-1, I click FREE UPDATE!
2. Authorizer starts and takes approx. 6 minutes to download and transfer the update/license/whole internet/whatever to my Balance.
3. After that time it tells me that there's no connection to the server.
4. I launch Reason, it tells me that there are licenses that need to be downloaded. It starts Authorizer again.
5. This time I decide to stop the time. I stare at a "Downloading licenses..." text for about 6.50 minutes!!
6. Finally it succeeded. It starts Reason! After about 13.2 Minutes I can start using Reason!

And this is not unusual! This ALWAYS happens when there are updates! Seriously WTF Props?!
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Tools for Reason FIVE! Nuffe Phead User Forum (read only) 109 2009-04-01 12:01
Reason users' way of writing a song? beatmincer Phead User Forum (read only) 20 2008-11-19 18:57
Help: Reason browser takes 15 seconds to open! beatmincer Phead User Forum (read only) 7 2007-05-25 10:28
Browsing libraries takes FOREVER 6altique General Forum (read only) 4 2004-09-03 19:50
CubaseSX/Reason takes ages to rewire/unwire? valiumart General Forum (read only) 2 2003-05-31 18:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:41.