Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-03-22, 16:09
Di5tanzplatt3 Di5tanzplatt3 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
mixer 0db fader max?

hi,

is it possible to set the fader on the midicontroller on the mastermixer in reason 6 set to 0db max?

i like to play live
  #2  
Old 2013-03-22, 17:19
dioxide's Avatar
dioxide dioxide is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Di5tanzplatt3 View Post
hi,

is it possible to set the fader on the midicontroller on the mastermixer in reason 6 set to 0db max?

i like to play live
I'm doing this at the moment, well kind of. I've got all faders set to max and I'm doing actual level control with the instrument levels and the mixer gain (start at lowest setting). It doesn't really work if you're creating new tracks as there is no way to set a default setting for mixer channels. But if you're preparing a set of songs you should be able to get this working.
  #3  
Old 2013-03-22, 17:40
Di5tanzplatt3 Di5tanzplatt3 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
ah u mean dont touch the mastermixer and mapping to the instruments rack masterlevel?
using passes in the mastermixer separatly should be enough yeah but i dont want to sample to much cause i want to sustain much
  #4  
Old 2013-03-22, 18:07
dioxide's Avatar
dioxide dioxide is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Di5tanzplatt3 View Post
ah u mean dont touch the mastermixer and mapping to the instruments rack masterlevel?
using passes in the mastermixer separatly should be enough yeah but i dont want to sample to much cause i want to sustain much
I'm my case I've got a BCF2000 as a controller for the mixer. Setting the levels so they are correct when the faders are at their highest position makes it easy to knock things in and out or to fade elements in. I've been mostly setting volumes with the input Gains on the mixer channels,

A live set can mean all kinds of different ways of working so whatever works I guess.
  #5  
Old 2013-03-22, 18:37
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,495
I think what dioxide is saying is that you simply let the mixer faders go up all the way (above 0 dB, to +8.06 dB) and then pull the level down by -8 dB at the input Gain knob. So what's happening is that you are first subtracting 8 dB, then adding 8 dB back in to equal "no change" in level in the end.

But now what you can do is to just slam the fader all the way up and it will be "calibrated" to be unity gain. Make sense? :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #6  
Old 2013-03-22, 19:02
dioxide's Avatar
dioxide dioxide is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
I think what dioxide is saying is that you simply let the mixer faders go up all the way (above 0 dB, to +8.06 dB) and then pull the level down by -8 dB at the input Gain knob. So what's happening is that you are first subtracting 8 dB, then adding 8 dB back in to equal "no change" in level in the end.

But now what you can do is to just slam the fader all the way up and it will be "calibrated" to be unity gain. Make sense? :-)
Yes that's exactly what I'm trying to say
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fader and mixer control? zeekum General Forum (read only) 0 2012-12-07 21:27
SSL vs. Mixer 14:2 SidMercutio General Forum (read only) 6 2012-10-20 18:33
Record's mixer gain knob vs. fader for volume adjusting jlgrimes Phead User Forum (read only) 18 2011-11-05 22:47


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:19.