Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-03-26, 09:59
kjellen kjellen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 10
quantize start or note length

hi there, I'd like to see select boxes for how quantize process events:
I'd love to quantize start point, but keep original note length. likewise, by marking both start and note length boxes, all notes will have equal length.
  #2  
Old 2013-03-26, 18:01
guitfnky's Avatar
guitfnky guitfnky is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 644
I thought that using the quantize function already did that (quantized the start point, but left the note duration the same - just shifting it)? I do usually have quantize turned on for recording though, so I may be wrong on that.

I do like the idea of being able to quantize the end of the note though. I wouldn't use it often, although I recall a few times when it was handy back when I used that feature in Digital Performer.
  #3  
Old 2013-03-27, 11:12
kjellen kjellen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitfnky View Post
I thought that using the quantize function already did that (quantized the start point, but left the note duration the same - just shifting it)? I do usually have quantize turned on for recording though, so I may be wrong on that.

I do like the idea of being able to quantize the end of the note though. I wouldn't use it often, although I recall a few times when it was handy back when I used that feature in Digital Performer.
Yes, you're quite right. I should have written "add quantize note length box" by adding the option to quantize duration, you can get the typical step sequencer style, without pattern structure limits. I used Roland JX3P and SH101 together when they came out, and got a mechanical groove, that old old step sequencer are famous for. I believe Vince Clark kept his Roland MC4B for many years in productions, for it's tight clock control over sequencer steps.
  #4  
Old 2013-05-23, 19:56
svenh svenh is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 81
+1:
I would find an option to quantize note *length* very useful too!
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to get pulsar to start the cycle when you press a midi note? briefcase Phead User Forum (read only) 5 2012-08-17 14:08
New Midi Keyboard + Reason = Quantizing notes is lowering volume and note length HELP mista808 General Forum (read only) 0 2012-01-04 00:00
thor (or combinator) controlling lfo speed with note length mbirame Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2011-03-26 08:35
No Quantize Length In Reason!?! Muzak Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2005-01-14 23:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:55.