Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-03-27, 22:50
MOOGY77's Avatar
MOOGY77 MOOGY77 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Question Using Reason live

Can anyone point me in the right direction to find a tutorial on how, and the best way to go about using Reason in a live setting.
  #2  
Old 2013-03-28, 02:37
QVprod's Avatar
QVprod QVprod is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,626
Depends on what kind of performing you do. Like are you a DJ or a keyboard player? Maybe something else?

Edit: some great info here
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…

Website

Last edited by QVprod; 2013-03-28 at 13:28.
  #3  
Old 2013-03-28, 15:19
DatAsian's Avatar
DatAsian DatAsian is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 39
I use a combination of matrix pattern sequencers for my melody (connected to Thor combinators, Kong pads or a string trough an auto arp) and use about two to three redrums for my drum patch (One redrum for purely kicks and snares, one for hits / cymbals / percussion, and one for random fx and blips).

Then, while all this is playing, you can mute a kick and swap it for another sample, (this of course goes for everything) and modulate the sounds using some rotary buttons / sliders etc.

Note that I do this to build up ONE live perform-able song, but I suppose you could add more and more redrums / matrix sequencers to add different flavors to your entire mix.

Edit:
Was planning on some tutorials on this actually, along with some usefull combinator patches if anyone is interested.
  #4  
Old 2013-03-28, 16:10
Aerond Aerond is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 32
To me it sounds what you want to do is map all of the parameters you alter to one or more midi controllers.
  #5  
Old 2013-10-17, 15:43
katerli1's Avatar
katerli1 katerli1 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 190
yeah man. would really love to learn your approach for live performances wirh reason. for this i wellcome a toutorial concerning this very well
  #6  
Old 2013-03-28, 17:58
MOOGY77's Avatar
MOOGY77 MOOGY77 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Keyboard player.
  #7  
Old 2013-03-28, 18:11
h2ogun99 h2ogun99 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 21
I have been using it for a while. I have the instruments I need for each song (sometimes more that one) in order. I work my way down the line as the show progresses. Ableton Live is also used. I don't rewire. One midi key for Reason and the other for Live. Getting Nektar P6 in a couple of days to make it a tad easier.
  #8  
Old 2013-03-30, 05:32
MOOGY77's Avatar
MOOGY77 MOOGY77 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Can you assign a button/controller to advance down the list?
  #9  
Old 2013-03-30, 14:40
3rdFloorSound's Avatar
3rdFloorSound 3rdFloorSound is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10,766
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOOGY77 View Post
Can you assign a button/controller to advance down the list?
Yeah, in Options>Additional Remote Overrides there are options for target previous track or target next track, there's also a delta control if you have an extra knob hangin' around
__________________
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More RE cpu usage madness vs VST/AU - Softube TheodoreM Phead User Forum (read only) 253 2013-06-17 15:26
Jets vs Dolphins Live Stream NomSir General Forum (read only) 0 2012-10-28 07:00
Reason 5 is good, but... Espejo Phead User Forum (read only) 47 2011-05-10 08:07
Ableton live 4.0 Vs Reason 3.0 Xenesis99 General Forum (read only) 24 2008-12-17 17:22
Frustrating Ableton Live and Reason 2 looping problem... xphilius General Forum (read only) 6 2008-06-04 17:23


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:47.