Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-04-03, 16:17
Signert Signert is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Balance channel level issue

Hi,

Just bought Propellerhead Balance to use as a recording interface for my studio PC (Win7). I'm not using Reason. I have installed the latest driver (1.1.0).

Everything works like a charm, except that I get a signal into the computer, even when the channel level buttons are turned all the way down. (And no, I'm not talking about Direct Monitoring.) This happens regardless of whether I'm using mic or guitar. The signal gets louder if twist the button, but again, I can never get it to zero.

Am I doing something wrong, or is there a hardware problem?

Thanks in advance!
/Johan
  #2  
Old 2013-04-03, 18:06
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signert View Post
Hi,

Just bought Propellerhead Balance to use as a recording interface for my studio PC (Win7). I'm not using Reason. I have installed the latest driver (1.1.0).

Everything works like a charm, except that I get a signal into the computer, even when the channel level buttons are turned all the way down. (And no, I'm not talking about Direct Monitoring.) This happens regardless of whether I'm using mic or guitar. The signal gets louder if twist the button, but again, I can never get it to zero.

Am I doing something wrong, or is there a hardware problem?

Thanks in advance!
/Johan
Neither, this is an input gain trim control, not a fader that fades out to silence. It is assumed you will set levels with this and leave it, which is why it's stepped and not smooth (and doesn't go all the way off). :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #3  
Old 2013-04-03, 20:29
Signert Signert is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
Neither, this is an input gain trim control, not a fader that fades out to silence. It is assumed you will set levels with this and leave it, which is why it's stepped and not smooth (and doesn't go all the way off). :-)
Thanks! Guess I'm used to having all inputs via a mixer.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balance Headphone output leaky (or interface issue?) IL-2 Phead User Forum (read only) 5 2012-02-24 22:30
Reason 5 Level Issue in ReWire Movies Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2012-01-14 04:05
Computer Balance Issue, please help. SJVMJD Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2004-05-04 13:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:06.