Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-04-09, 05:10
DavidA's Avatar
DavidA DavidA is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 366
Taking a picture of Reason screen

How can I take a photo of the Reason screen and save it on the computer so I can send via e-mail or what ever?
  #2  
Old 2013-04-09, 05:31
KarmaShaman KarmaShaman is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 228
Hi there. in win7 theres a great little thing called SNIPPING TOOL. look for it from your start menu search. No need for using photo editing programs with this tool
  #3  
Old 2013-04-09, 05:40
DavidA's Avatar
DavidA DavidA is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 366
Wow, cool Thanks.
  #4  
Old 2013-04-09, 06:45
SteveDiverse's Avatar
SteveDiverse SteveDiverse is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,615
"Print Screen" will put an image format of your screen in the clip board (like copy) at which point you can paste it into any software that supports image formats.

"Print Screen" varies by manufacturer... in my computer, there's a dedicated Fn (Function) button for it (labelled "Prt Sc")
__________________

HP Pavillion DV7T-3300 Laptop | i7 Q720 @ 1.6 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win7 Pro 64-bit
m-audio Axiom Pro 61 keyboard controller || iPad2 | RetouchControl DUO | TouchOSC | LoopBe30 MIDI
m-audio Mobile Pre USB (original) audio interface | ASIO4ALL || RØDE NT-3 mic
Reason 6.5.3 || Pulsar | Saturation Knob | Rough Rider | TSAR-1 | Uhbik-A | Re-Tron | Polar | Echobode | Uhbik Q | Uhbik F | Morfin XF | Uhbik S | Uhbik D | Uhbik G | CV Suite Line Processor | wbl5515 | Uhbik P | RE-2A | Radical Piano
  #5  
Old 2013-04-09, 11:25
marvil's Avatar
marvil marvil is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,436
On a Mac; shift + cmd + 3, to take a .png picture of the screen, shift + cmd + 4, to take a cropped picture. Just in case anyone needed to know.
__________________
"20 years ago we had computers in the studios. Now we have studios in the computers" - Michel Moers.
RE: Polysix • Predator • Antidote • Viking • Mono/Poly • kHs ONE • ReDominator • Bitspeek • Echobode • AutoArp • Ozone Maximizer • Pulsar • Saturation Knob
  #6  
Old 2013-04-09, 14:26
DHWood's Avatar
DHWood DHWood is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by marvil View Post
On a Mac; shift + cmd + 3, to take a .png picture of the screen, shift + cmd + 4, to take a cropped picture. Just in case anyone needed to know.
Additionally, after hitting shift-cmd-4, pressing the space bar will put the clipping tool into "window" mode; select a window and it'll take a picture of that window. With a drop shadow. It inflates the filesize and I'm not sure how to turn it off, but it looks cool.
  #7  
Old 2013-04-09, 15:34
marvil's Avatar
marvil marvil is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by DHWood View Post
Additionally, after hitting shift-cmd-4, pressing the space bar will put the clipping tool into "window" mode; select a window and it'll take a picture of that window. With a drop shadow. It inflates the filesize and I'm not sure how to turn it off, but it looks cool.
I didn't know that, very useful. I don't get a shadow, though.
__________________
"20 years ago we had computers in the studios. Now we have studios in the computers" - Michel Moers.
RE: Polysix • Predator • Antidote • Viking • Mono/Poly • kHs ONE • ReDominator • Bitspeek • Echobode • AutoArp • Ozone Maximizer • Pulsar • Saturation Knob
  #8  
Old 2013-04-10, 04:30
vanKloot's Avatar
vanKloot vanKloot is online now
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by DHWood View Post
Additionally, after hitting shift-cmd-4, pressing the space bar will put the clipping tool into "window" mode; select a window and it'll take a picture of that window. With a drop shadow. It inflates the filesize and I'm not sure how to turn it off, but it looks cool.
That's awesome, I didn't know that either and I've been using the Mac since day 1. Nice!

Here's another tweak... COMMAND-SHIFT-CONTROL-4 will allow you to make a clipping of any arbitrary screen area and save it to the clipboard WITHOUT making a file. Great for quickly pasting into Skype, an email, Messages, Word, etc.
__________________
I've decided to get serious about my music again at last.
So go ahead... ask me how my new album is coming!

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL ME & SAY HI



Some stuff I've made with Reason...

Loading SoundCloud…

Last edited by vanKloot; 2013-04-10 at 07:05.
  #9  
Old 2013-04-09, 11:39
Ambientdave Ambientdave is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,753
Hi David

if your using a PC,using the snipping tool in accessories,save that as a Jpeg
  #10  
Old 2013-04-09, 15:04
ShelLuser's Avatar
ShelLuser ShelLuser is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidA View Post
How can I take a photo of the Reason screen and save it on the computer so I can send via e-mail or what ever?
On Windows you can use print screen to make a screensot of your entire screen, and if you use alt-printscreen it will only snap the currently active window.

As for processing and such I've become a very big fan of IrfanView for that, its free and also very extensive. From simply cutting up a picture right down to blurring certain sections which you don't want to share ;-)
__________________
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the Big Trio: Live 9 Suite, Max (for Live) and Reason 6.5.
Spam: SynthFan.info

 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PROBLEMS SYNCING CUBASE SL AND REASON VIA REWIRE!? Muzak Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2008-08-12 20:26
reason on mac mini via touch screen as live performance rig chunonghead General Forum (read only) 2 2006-07-20 19:24
Reason / DP / OMS Test Results Within... arothman General Forum (read only) 2 2003-03-05 03:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:13.