Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-04-30, 17:09
flyingfox's Avatar
flyingfox flyingfox is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Exclamation Timestreching question

Hi, I have a question:
Timestreching is a cool thing but sometimes I do not know how do handle loops.
E.G. I have a song which is about 80 bpm and I want to insert a wav audio file (looped drum e.g.) which has 120 bpm. After inserted to reason the file sounds like my song is 120 bpm but it is not (it is still 80 bpm).
How can I load a different bpm sound file into reason and change it to the right time like REX-Musikinstrument is doing this automatically?

hope everyone understands me correctly.

thanks.
  #2  
Old 2013-04-30, 17:17
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingfox View Post
Hi, I have a question:
Timestreching is a cool thing but sometimes I do not know how do handle loops.
E.G. I have a song which is about 80 bpm and I want to insert a wav audio file (looped drum e.g.) which has 120 bpm. After inserted to reason the file sounds like my song is 120 bpm but it is not (it is still 80 bpm).
How can I load a different bpm sound file into reason and change it to the right time like REX-Musikinstrument is doing this automatically?

hope everyone understands me correctly.

thanks.
If you already know the tempo of your loop, change your song project file to the same tempo before importing the audio. Once it is imported, change your project back to the desired tempo. Of course, if there is tempo data embedded in the file that Reason can read, it will automatically change the tempo of the audio to match your project.
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
  #3  
Old 2013-04-30, 17:17
Vinncker Vinncker is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11
Set your file tempo at the tempo of the file you want to import. Import the file and change the tempo back to it's original. Voila
  #4  
Old 2013-05-02, 09:44
flyingfox's Avatar
flyingfox flyingfox is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Timestreching

Thanks, I figured that out but I have some samples with no tempo information. So there is no way how to solve this problem with ease? Mmmh does anyone has an idea how to figure out the tempo if there is no tempo information in a file? On easy drumbeat it is no problem but soundscapes and drones are difficulty to find out if the tempo is an important information.
  #5  
Old 2013-05-02, 10:47
scifunk's Avatar
scifunk scifunk is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 927
Just place the start of the sample where you want it and then use the stretch handles on the audio clip to drag the clip in time
__________________
Scientific Funk & Cactus Jack - deep house, tech-house and techno
  #6  
Old 2013-05-02, 11:40
Ambientdave Ambientdave is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by scifunk View Post
Just place the start of the sample where you want it and then use the stretch handles on the audio clip to drag the clip in time

Using the metronome helps with keeping the beat too,handy if you have no tempo info in your audio file
  #7  
Old 2013-05-02, 11:55
Djjimmyc's Avatar
Djjimmyc Djjimmyc is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 756
Thats quite a tempo change for a transient based audio.
I'd personally prefer to chop it into a rex loop and manipulate from there.
But of course these fine gentlemen are right too.

Different ways to skin a cat and all that
__________________
SLICE OF DNB

Loading SoundCloud…
  #8  
Old 2013-05-02, 14:04
mac0123's Avatar
mac0123 mac0123 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,335
Try this link --> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VSWwC...263D87CD4601CD

Very usefull & informative video.
If you combine using Blocks with these methods,the potential increases in simplicity or complexity.
Hope this helps.
__________________
--------------Skype- paulmac0123--------------
Conscious thinking is LOUDER than words.

--------------LUCEO-NON-URO---------------
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basic compression settings? 2cool4jewels Phead User Forum (read only) 10 2010-07-20 17:18
Question about using samples on the NN-XT DJEXTACY General Forum (read only) 3 2009-11-22 01:11
Thanx to the people that Care I have one more question thanx BlackDJ Music Forum (read only) 0 2009-10-10 19:59
Question about Record filesave behavior. descathach Phead User Forum (read only) 11 2009-05-20 03:20
question: HARDWARE Mystery integration Oblique General Forum (read only) 2 2003-08-17 12:35


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:46.