Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-05-15, 18:15
smrybacki's Avatar
smrybacki smrybacki is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 200
Question New to Reason and a couple of questions..

Hello...

I am new to Reason, having recently purchased Reason 6.5 (and then freely upgraded to reason 7) for use in school at Berklee Online in a Master's Certificate program in Music Production and Guitar. First off, I love what I have seen both from the Reason product itself, and the folks who make it as far as their approach and philosophies of music creation. In any event, along with this purchase, I bought a new Sweetwater Creation Station purpose built audio recording computer with an Intel i5 4 core processor, 500GB system and 1TB audio SATA drives, 12GB memory. That quickly led to the discovery of how truly bad my M-Audio Fast Track Pro USB interface was in terms of noisy preamps and crappy drivers. This led to me purchasing the Propellerhead Balance interface (it is en-route as I type this) based on the nothing but positive reviews I'd seen on it, and the overall elegant nature of it's design. That then leads to these questions:

1. I have a Boss DR-880 Rhythm Doctor drum machine. From what I can tell, has Reason's included Redrum and Kong drum rack units effective replaced that as my drum track creation device? I am thinking it will, once I learn HOW to use them properly. Overall, I would like to streamline my setup, and get rid of that Boss unit in a separate eBay or wherever sale if possible, and recoup some of my expenses. Am I correct in this assumption, or will the Boss machine still end up being my "go to" drum track making choice?

2. I also have a Yamaha MO8 88 key Synthesizer Workstation that I plan to use initially as my MIDI interface that connects via USB. I have my eye also on the Nektar Panorama P1, but I digress...can this synth be used not only to trigger the internal sounds of reason, but also to control the DAW transport and synth parameters via the DAW Remote button on the MO8? I was able to get this done in a limited way with Ableton Live 8 Intro (also a decent product btw) on my creaky old Win XP box I replaced, but have been so far unable to do that in my Reason setup. Anyone know where I can find out how to do this, or if it is even possible?

3. Since I first bought the full version of Reason, and then later the Balance product which comes with Reason Essentials, is there any reason for me to install Essentials? IOW, is there anything Essentials has that the full Reason product lacks that is useful? Or can I just sell it to someone who wants a copy at a discount? Or maybe give it to my brother I suppose, but he doesn't really record -- just gigs.

Anyway, I look very much forward to being a member of this community and learning everything there is to know about Reason.

Regards,

Steve
  #2  
Old 2013-05-15, 18:48
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
As you haven't registered Reason Essentials be aware that when you sell it the buyer will receive both an upgrade to Reason 7 and Reason Essentials which they can then sell!
  #3  
Old 2013-05-15, 18:56
smrybacki's Avatar
smrybacki smrybacki is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 200
Thanks..but that makes me wonder this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by n0ahg View Post
As you haven't registered Reason Essentials be aware that when you sell it the buyer will receive both an upgrade to Reason 7 and Reason Essentials which they can then sell!
Hey, thanks for the heads up! So is what you're saying then, is that perhaps it is worth more than the $99 asking price retail?
  #4  
Old 2013-05-15, 19:04
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Yes

1) if unregistered it will give an upgrade to reason 7
2) it is a seperate Reason Essentials license which can be upgraded to Reason using the normal upgrade (it's more expensive to upgrade Reason Essentials)
  #5  
Old 2013-05-15, 19:23
smrybacki's Avatar
smrybacki smrybacki is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 200
Many Thanks...

Quote:
Originally Posted by n0ahg View Post
Yes

1) if unregistered it will give an upgrade to reason 7
2) it is a seperate Reason Essentials license which can be upgraded to Reason using the normal upgrade (it's more expensive to upgrade Reason Essentials)
For cluing me in!
  #6  
Old 2013-05-16, 08:53
jonesee jonesee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0ahg View Post
As you haven't registered Reason Essentials be aware that when you sell it the buyer will receive both an upgrade to Reason 7 and Reason Essentials which they can then sell!
Surely the buyer will be able to purchase an upgrade to 7, not simply receive it at no extra cost?

Last edited by jonesee; 2013-05-16 at 08:56.
  #7  
Old 2013-05-16, 11:04
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonesee View Post
Surely the buyer will be able to purchase an upgrade to 7, not simply receive it at no extra cost?
If they have an existing Reason or Record license it will be upgraded to Reason 7 when registering the bundled Reason Essentials. The Reason Essentials is separate so can also be upgraded to Reason 7 using the normal Reason 7 Upgrade instead of the more expensive upgrade!
  #8  
Old 2013-05-16, 05:22
conorwalshpiano's Avatar
conorwalshpiano conorwalshpiano is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 13
Hi Steve,
I'm similarly considering the Nektar panorama p1. I have an apc 40 which is a struggle with reason. I'm also waiting for my delivery of balance.
Good luck with reason 7.
  #9  
Old 2013-05-16, 05:53
smrybacki's Avatar
smrybacki smrybacki is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 200
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by conorwalshpiano View Post
Hi Steve,
I'm similarly considering the Nektar panorama p1. I have an apc 40 which is a struggle with reason. I'm also waiting for my delivery of balance.
Good luck with reason 7.
Well good luck to you too, and if you get that P1,be sure to let me know how you like it!
  #10  
Old 2013-05-16, 19:38
smrybacki's Avatar
smrybacki smrybacki is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by smrybacki View Post
Hello...

I am new to Reason, having recently purchased Reason 6.5 (and then freely upgraded to reason 7) for use in school at Berklee Online in a Master's Certificate program in Music Production and Guitar. First off, I love what I have seen both from the Reason product itself, and the folks who make it as far as their approach and philosophies of music creation. In any event, along with this purchase, I bought a new Sweetwater Creation Station purpose built audio recording computer with an Intel i5 4 core processor, 500GB system and 1TB audio SATA drives, 12GB memory. That quickly led to the discovery of how truly bad my M-Audio Fast Track Pro USB interface was in terms of noisy preamps and crappy drivers. This led to me purchasing the Propellerhead Balance interface (it is en-route as I type this) based on the nothing but positive reviews I'd seen on it, and the overall elegant nature of it's design. That then leads to these questions:

1. I have a Boss DR-880 Rhythm Doctor drum machine. From what I can tell, has Reason's included Redrum and Kong drum rack units effective replaced that as my drum track creation device? I am thinking it will, once I learn HOW to use them properly. Overall, I would like to streamline my setup, and get rid of that Boss unit in a separate eBay or wherever sale if possible, and recoup some of my expenses. Am I correct in this assumption, or will the Boss machine still end up being my "go to" drum track making choice?

2. I also have a Yamaha MO8 88 key Synthesizer Workstation that I plan to use initially as my MIDI interface that connects via USB. I have my eye also on the Nektar Panorama P1, but I digress...can this synth be used not only to trigger the internal sounds of reason, but also to control the DAW transport and synth parameters via the DAW Remote button on the MO8? I was able to get this done in a limited way with Ableton Live 8 Intro (also a decent product btw) on my creaky old Win XP box I replaced, but have been so far unable to do that in my Reason setup. Anyone know where I can find out how to do this, or if it is even possible?

3. Since I first bought the full version of Reason, and then later the Balance product which comes with Reason Essentials, is there any reason for me to install Essentials? IOW, is there anything Essentials has that the full Reason product lacks that is useful? Or can I just sell it to someone who wants a copy at a discount? Or maybe give it to my brother I suppose, but he doesn't really record -- just gigs.

Anyway, I look very much forward to being a member of this community and learning everything there is to know about Reason.

Regards,

Steve
Anyone have any input to the questions I asked, by any chance? I appreciate the heads up on the Reason Essentials though, not to seem ungrateful for that...
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Reason 6 with ReWire (32bit) on a Windows 64-bit operating system sazi General Forum (read only) 51 2013-04-02 07:17
A method to use VST plugins in reason SpaceToad Phead User Forum (read only) 48 2013-03-11 14:54
Reason as rewire, a couple of questions Joshege General Forum (read only) 0 2011-08-31 02:58
?'s about exporting tracks out of RSN and into another app. DSUB Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2011-02-21 03:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:58.