Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-06-18, 12:37
bibbis bibbis is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Record electric piano

Hello everyone!

I'm thinking of buying the Balance and I'm wondering how it performs when recording electric pianos.

I have a Yamaha CP50 and it has a beautiful Grand Piano sound but I'm having such difficulties finding a good way to record it.

Right now I have a cheap crappy USB interface and it's doing a horrible job at it.
I've also tried many other methods but I've never tried using a more expensive high-quality interface.


Could someone with a bit experience with recording pianos with the Balance maybe give me some input about it?


Thanks,
Robin
  #2  
Old 2013-06-18, 17:03
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by bibbis View Post
Hello everyone!

I'm thinking of buying the Balance and I'm wondering how it performs when recording electric pianos.

I have a Yamaha CP50 and it has a beautiful Grand Piano sound but I'm having such difficulties finding a good way to record it.

Right now I have a cheap crappy USB interface and it's doing a horrible job at it.
I've also tried many other methods but I've never tried using a more expensive high-quality interface.


Could someone with a bit experience with recording pianos with the Balance maybe give me some input about it?


Thanks,
Robin
First of all, to avoid confusion in the future: electric pianos are like Rhodes and Wurlitzer, Pianos are like Steinway, Yamaha, Baldwin.

What you're asking about is an "electronic keyboard", in your case a "stage piano". These all put out similar levels, electronically speaking, from classic synths to sampled stage pianos.

You need an interface with an "line level" input. Though these can be 1/4" jacks, they are not exactly the same as a guitar input. An ideal interface IMO has the ability to deal with electronic instruments such as your CP50 AND electro mechanical instruments that use a magnetic pickup such as guitars or electric pianos (Rhodes, Wurly, Clavinet).

Balance handles all of these quite well IMO, including microphones btw. Hope this helps! :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #3  
Old 2013-06-19, 03:43
bibbis bibbis is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
First of all, to avoid confusion in the future: electric pianos are like Rhodes and Wurlitzer, Pianos are like Steinway, Yamaha, Baldwin.

What you're asking about is an "electronic keyboard", in your case a "stage piano". These all put out similar levels, electronically speaking, from classic synths to sampled stage pianos.

You need an interface with an "line level" input. Though these can be 1/4" jacks, they are not exactly the same as a guitar input. An ideal interface IMO has the ability to deal with electronic instruments such as your CP50 AND electro mechanical instruments that use a magnetic pickup such as guitars or electric pianos (Rhodes, Wurly, Clavinet).

Balance handles all of these quite well IMO, including microphones btw. Hope this helps! :-)
lol yeah I know saying "piano" is wrong, I didn't think anyone would be so picky :P

So how on earth will I know if an interface has "line level" inputs?
I've never heard of this.

Have you used a Balance to record an electronic keyboard?
  #4  
Old 2013-06-19, 07:40
reasoner498's Avatar
reasoner498 reasoner498 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by bibbis View Post
lol yeah I know saying "piano" is wrong, I didn't think anyone would be so picky :P
That guy being "picky" has probably done more in music than any given 100 other members combined posting here...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Giles_Reaves

http://resonantfilter.blogspot.com/2...es-reaves.html

IMO, you'll learn a lot more if you leave the snarkiness out of the equation.

ymmv...
  #5  
Old 2013-06-19, 08:25
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by bibbis View Post
lol yeah I know saying "piano" is wrong, I didn't think anyone would be so picky :P

So how on earth will I know if an interface has "line level" inputs?
I've never heard of this.

Have you used a Balance to record an electronic keyboard?
Sorry to get all "picky" on you. :-(

Balance has line inputs - they are usually labeled as Line In or Line Inputs. I love my Balance, BTW!

Once you get above the entry level devices, they can all sound pretty great on the line inputs. Among other things, it's more the mic preamps, convertors, general noise level and durability that tend to improve with more expensive hardware IMO. :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Record Midi Synch Error Process loop: need help please bugtheroot Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2013-02-09 22:04
How to Record using Record with ReWire KidBomba Phead User Forum (read only) 4 2011-07-08 20:48
Piano sounds, upgrades, and the best way to record something? Rothgarr General Forum (read only) 3 2010-07-13 15:30
Problem with authorization of Record for Reason Owners. DannyTaki Phead User Forum (read only) 5 2009-11-22 09:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:56.