Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-08-01, 17:52
FrameLocker's Avatar
FrameLocker FrameLocker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,288
Close button should be a toggle

As long as a person composes music on the computer's keyboard, I'm sure Ctrl+E isn't a problem, but everything turns awkward when an instrument is placed in its natural position--in front of you. This displaces the computer's keyboard or moves a person far enough back from it that reaching for and finding Ctrl+E is a true irritation. A mouse can be easily placed next to you, the keyboard not so much.

Why isn't the button a toggle instead of being a one-way street?
__________________

The Frame Locker
The Locker's Music
[for video slide shows]
Playing with Reason
  #2  
Old 2013-08-01, 19:22
nickmorgan19457's Avatar
nickmorgan19457 nickmorgan19457 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 524
Control + E only moved between edit and overview in the sequencer. That button is toggle.
Other than that, what?
  #3  
Old 2013-08-01, 19:42
FrameLocker's Avatar
FrameLocker FrameLocker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickmorgan19457 View Post
Control + E only moved between edit and overview in the sequencer. That button is toggle.
Other than that, what?
Unless you're using version 7, you don't know that it isn't a toggle. When you're in edit mode, the close button is there. Click it to go out of edit mode, and there's no button whatsoever.
__________________

The Frame Locker
The Locker's Music
[for video slide shows]
Playing with Reason
  #4  
Old 2013-08-01, 20:13
nickmorgan19457's Avatar
nickmorgan19457 nickmorgan19457 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 524
Well that's annoying. Pointless changes are evil.
  #5  
Old 2013-08-01, 20:22
FrameLocker's Avatar
FrameLocker FrameLocker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickmorgan19457 View Post
Well that's annoying. Pointless changes are evil.
Yes, indeed.
__________________

The Frame Locker
The Locker's Music
[for video slide shows]
Playing with Reason
  #6  
Old 2013-08-02, 14:20
Arsenic's Avatar
Arsenic Arsenic is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 708
Through necessity, I have things set up so that I launch Reason from a batch file on my PC. This loads a small .exe file that maps the Ctrl+E keyboard command to the mouse wheel button and then launches Reason. I just dropped a shortcut to the batch file on the desktop.

All I have to do now is highlight the track and click the mouse wheel to get into edit mode and click again to get out.

Last edited by Arsenic; 2013-08-02 at 19:09.
  #7  
Old 2013-08-02, 15:38
FrameLocker's Avatar
FrameLocker FrameLocker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,288
I know it's such a seemingly small thing, and yet even though I started using version 7 the day it was launched, the lack of that simple toggle is still breaking my workflow.

A batch file is certainly a stopgap measure, but it seems such a sad necessity, doesn't it?
__________________

The Frame Locker
The Locker's Music
[for video slide shows]
Playing with Reason
  #8  
Old 2013-08-02, 16:15
Arsenic's Avatar
Arsenic Arsenic is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrameLocker View Post
I know it's such a seemingly small thing, and yet even though I started using version 7 the day it was launched, the lack of that simple toggle is still breaking my workflow.

A batch file is certainly a stopgap measure, but it seems such a sad necessity, doesn't it?
The reason for me is due to disability. I no longer have full use of my left side, especially my arm/hand/fingers - which is a bitter blow to a bass player of nearly forty years.... and makes multiple key commands more than a little awkward.

At least this way, I can keep my mouse handy, and just press the mouse wheel to bounce in and out of edit mode to my hearts content.

Last edited by Arsenic; 2013-08-02 at 19:10.
  #9  
Old 2013-08-02, 16:25
FrameLocker's Avatar
FrameLocker FrameLocker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsenic View Post
The reason for me is due to disability...
My hat's off to you for your can-do attitude!
__________________

The Frame Locker
The Locker's Music
[for video slide shows]
Playing with Reason
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Controlling Record SSL with multiple Behringer BCF2000 units mcatalao Phead User Forum (read only) 32 2012-11-29 17:37
Record - Close By Not Entirely There Yet Mix77 Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2010-11-19 08:24
Midi: CC assign to a button - Value range issues. tgbuer General Forum (read only) 3 2008-03-02 02:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:00.