Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-10-24, 20:39
c4djack's Avatar
c4djack c4djack is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 109
Lua Script interface

We already have Lua scripts for the Remote codecs and the GUI part of Rack Extensions. It would be nice to be able to extend menus and create our own commands with Lua.

That way, we could automate a lot of those everyday tasks we have to do, but that are not important enough to actually request them from the Propellerheads.

A simple script interface would execute scripts on click (no realtime hooks within the engine), and grant access to functionality like creating and deleting devices; moving devices around in the rack; creating and changing the cable connections; creating, deleting and moving mixer channel strips, et cetera.

As I come from the graphics programming and 3D rendering area, I just love any kind of scripting interfaces, because I can easily extend the functionality of my favorite software without having to bug the developers of the application (or wait for them to implement my personal wishes for me).
__________________
3D Graphics Software Developer
...but into music:
http://soundcloud.com/c4d-jack
  #2  
Old 2013-10-24, 21:55
charlycharlzz's Avatar
charlycharlzz charlycharlzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,963
not a good idear at all because imagine the guys that dont know much and starting to change stuff without really knowing what and then coming back here and cry LOL pure stress for props LOL .

if you are a 3d devs then you can apply here and then sell your remote codecs or whatever and most of all run your tests http://www.propellerheads.se/blog/tu...ontrol-remote/

__________________

It's like gambling !!!
but you get something out the slot everytime you click ! lol

▓▓▓
dಠಠb
_(Θ)_

No Respect for the Talion Law , I whant it All !
  #3  
Old 2013-10-24, 21:59
c4djack's Avatar
c4djack c4djack is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlycharlzz View Post
not a good idear at all because imagine the guys that dont know much and starting to change stuff without really knowing what and then coming back here and cry LOL pure stress for props LOL .
Of course, you can always get lost in complex matters. Can already happen if you create supercomplex wiring between your Reason devices.

Adding a simple Scripting interface to automate stuff that you can do anyway (just manually, using the GUI) would not change that in any way.

And yes, of course it's a pro feature and maybe not for everyone. But it would make working in Reason so much more comfortable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlycharlzz View Post
if you are a 3d devs then you can apply here and then sell your remote codecs or whatever and most of all run your tests http://www.propellerheads.se/blog/tu...ontrol-remote/
I don't want to write a Remote codec. That I could already do anyway. I want to automate stuff. Simple tasks, like moving a device forward or backward in the signal chain. Currently, this would require me to unplug 2 to 4 cables and plugin them back in, in a different order. With a simple 4 to 8-line script, this would be just one click.

Reason has a Lua scripting host anyway, I just want to use it in more places of the application to make better use of the technology that is already there.
__________________
3D Graphics Software Developer
...but into music:
http://soundcloud.com/c4d-jack

Last edited by c4djack; 2013-10-24 at 22:02.
  #4  
Old 2013-10-24, 23:15
JesseRyckman's Avatar
JesseRyckman JesseRyckman is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlycharlzz View Post
not a good idear at all because imagine the guys that dont know much and starting to change stuff without really knowing what and then coming back here and cry LOL pure stress for props LOL .

if you are a 3d devs then you can apply here and then sell your remote codecs or whatever and most of all run your tests http://www.propellerheads.se/blog/tu...ontrol-remote/

But probably not very many people would go digging around and messing with it if they didn't know what they were doing. And if they wanted to learn about it, people would understand that the capability is there to do things incorrectly. This is true even now with any codec work, gotta backup those originals if you don't want to fuck it up

I think it's a fantastic idea, and I would be the first to pay for your work in this regard. Let's extend them functionalities!

Last edited by JesseRyckman; 2013-10-24 at 23:17.
  #5  
Old 2013-10-24, 23:27
c4djack's Avatar
c4djack c4djack is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 109
Simple scripting is not as difficult as making a hardware codec work. And simple scripting for automation does not go deep enough to really f*** things up. Maybe people would script some weird stuff, but then again, they could also wire Reason up in weird ways, and turn Reason's knobs in weird ways.

As I said, of course scripting is not for everyone, and it does require some days of learning. But if that would be reason enough not to provide people with scripting interfaces, there would be no software on the market doing so. But there is
__________________
3D Graphics Software Developer
...but into music:
http://soundcloud.com/c4d-jack
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scottym's New Enhanced Predator 2 Interface scottym Phead User Forum (read only) 179 2013-07-05 16:45
Advice on studio gear (recording interface & monitors) koma7 General Forum (read only) 8 2013-03-23 17:43
Balance interface only MarcelBeleu General Forum (read only) 8 2012-08-08 14:44
reason 6 with tascam US-100 audio interface tripnotix Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2012-04-05 04:04
Strange problem with audio interface (no bass) Kyho General Forum (read only) 4 2012-04-03 21:21


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:05.