Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-10-27, 22:51
ErinMoore ErinMoore is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 17
Looking at Reason 7 - is 3 Gigs of ram ok?

Hello all,

I've been a Live user for about a year now but never really use it. I've been demoing Reason on my parents PC (16 gigs ram, i7 4770) as my laptop is in the shop. I'm supposed to get it back Monday. Anyway - so far I really like Reason a lot and I'm thinking about buying it (or rather - convincing mom and dad for an early birthday present)!

My question is: can I run Reason 7 on just 3 gigs of ram? I have Windows 8 64-bit. I see the minimum requirement is 4 gigs but thought I'd ask. Thanks!

Erin
  #2  
Old 2013-10-27, 22:53
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErinMoore View Post
Hello all,

I've been a Live user for about a year now but never really use it. I've been demoing Reason on my parents PC (16 gigs ram, i7 4770) as my laptop is in the shop. I'm supposed to get it back Monday. Anyway - so far I really like Reason a lot and I'm thinking about buying it (or rather - convincing mom and dad for an early birthday present)!

My question is: can I run Reason 7 on just 3 gigs of ram? I have Windows 8 64-bit. I see the minimum requirement is 4 gigs but thought I'd ask. Thanks!

Erin
Ugh.. ok - here goes: yes, but don't expect mind blowing performance.

Source: https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...2&postcount=93

(...waits..)
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
  #3  
Old 2013-10-27, 22:58
ErinMoore ErinMoore is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnochLight View Post
Ugh.. ok - here goes: yes, but don't expect mind blowing performance.

Source: https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...2&postcount=93

(...waits..)
Wow - thanks for such a quick response EnochLight! I just skimmed that thread you just linked to - a lot of information in there. I can't seem to post to that forum though, just read.
  #4  
Old 2013-10-27, 22:59
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErinMoore View Post
Wow - thanks for such a quick response EnochLight! I just skimmed that thread you just linked to - a lot of information in there. I can't seem to post to that forum though, just read.
No problem. Yeah - in order to post in the User Forum, you have to register an owned product. You can read all the threads though.
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
  #5  
Old 2013-10-28, 09:31
phasys's Avatar
phasys phasys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnochLight View Post
Ugh.. ok - here goes: yes, but don't expect to be able to use huge sample libraries.
Fixed that for you.
__________________
"Having unlimited choices can paralyze you creatively." - David Byrne

"Some questions simply do not deserve an answer." - Richard Dawkins

https://soundcloud.com/dutch-bastard

omfg one million megahurz CPU
  #6  
Old 2013-10-28, 12:50
zeebot's Avatar
zeebot zeebot is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,134
Come on guys!! I'm running out of popcorn here!
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #7  
Old 2013-10-28, 14:36
ErinMoore ErinMoore is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by phasys View Post
Fixed that for you.
Seriously pal - don't start. After reading that other thread I can honestly say that I would prefer you stay out of any thread I start. Thanks.
  #8  
Old 2013-10-28, 14:37
phasys's Avatar
phasys phasys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErinMoore View Post
Seriously pal - don't start. After reading that other thread I can honestly say that I would prefer you stay out of any thread I start. Thanks.
I know who you are, don't even bother.
__________________
"Having unlimited choices can paralyze you creatively." - David Byrne

"Some questions simply do not deserve an answer." - Richard Dawkins

https://soundcloud.com/dutch-bastard

omfg one million megahurz CPU
  #9  
Old 2013-10-28, 15:11
ErinMoore ErinMoore is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by phasys View Post
I know who you are, don't even bother.
That's not the least bit creepy....

TROLL.
  #10  
Old 2013-10-28, 23:23
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by phasys View Post
Fixed that for you.
https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...63&postcount=7
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popular Plugins as Combinator Patches NoelGMusic Phead User Forum (read only) 216 2013-09-25 02:12
Why did i buy record?????!!!!!*$ Mathmatech General Forum (read only) 131 2013-01-14 17:02
People just face it; Reason rules again! :) [n/t] eric General Forum (read only) 26 2011-08-02 01:49
How do I solve that factory sound bank thingie? vectro Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2009-05-19 20:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:15.