Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-11-13, 17:38
ta1yn ta1yn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Overlapping samples

Can anyone help me?
I am trying to create a hardstyle drum loop but i want the sample of the kick im using to cut off at the start of the next sound but when i start the next sound, the sound carries over and ruins the next sample.
How can i get it so the sound cuts off as the next sample starts?
  #2  
Old 2013-11-13, 23:43
BrianHunt2013's Avatar
BrianHunt2013 BrianHunt2013 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 89
Overlapping Samples

Quote:
Originally Posted by ta1yn View Post
Can anyone help me?
I am trying to create a hardstyle drum loop but i want the sample of the kick im using to cut off at the start of the next sound but when i start the next sound, the sound carries over and ruins the next sample.
How can i get it so the sound cuts off as the next sample starts?
If you are using reason you can turn the polyphony down to one so it "chokes" the sample and cuts it off.
__________________
"Where there is music; you'll find me..."
http://www.soundcloud.com/brianhuntmusic
  #3  
Old 2013-11-14, 14:01
ta1yn ta1yn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianHunt2013 View Post
If you are using reason you can turn the polyphony down to one so it "chokes" the sample and cuts it off.

Im using the ReDrum to make the loop. What is polyphony? (even though i have been using Reason for quite a while now, i still don't know that much about it)
  #4  
Old 2013-11-14, 14:10
phasys's Avatar
phasys phasys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by ta1yn View Post
Im using the ReDrum to make the loop. What is polyphony? (even though i have been using Reason for quite a while now, i still don't know that much about it)
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=polyphony
__________________
"Having unlimited choices can paralyze you creatively." - David Byrne

"Some questions simply do not deserve an answer." - Richard Dawkins

https://soundcloud.com/dutch-bastard

omfg one million megahurz CPU
  #5  
Old 2013-11-14, 18:02
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by ta1yn View Post
Im using the ReDrum to make the loop. What is polyphony? (even though i have been using Reason for quite a while now, i still don't know that much about it)
The only slots that can do this in ReDrum are 8-9 via the "Channel 8-9 Exclusive" button in the lower left hand corner. The typical use of this feature is to have open hi hat and closed hi hat samples 'exclusive' so they cut each other off like it happens with real hi hats.

It's not common to do this with other samples, for example it's not common to need to cut the kick when the snare hits or any other combination. That being said, you CAN do this with NN-XT and a bit of careful programming. Do this by putting all "exclusive" samples into the same group and activate the Group Mono button for that group. Details are found in the User Guide. :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #6  
Old 2013-11-15, 16:52
sh73888's Avatar
sh73888 sh73888 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
The only slots that can do this in ReDrum are 8-9 via the "Channel 8-9 Exclusive" button in the lower left hand corner. The typical use of this feature is to have open hi hat and closed hi hat samples 'exclusive' so they cut each other off like it happens with real hi hats.

It's not common to do this with other samples, for example it's not common to need to cut the kick when the snare hits or any other combination. That being said, you CAN do this with NN-XT and a bit of careful programming. Do this by putting all "exclusive" samples into the same group and activate the Group Mono button for that group. Details are found in the User Guide. :-)

Good tip although that sounds like a bear of a process.. for sake of simplicity (and learning about this sweet program finally!), wouldnt he be better off attacking this challenge in audio format - via slicing and arranging the kick audio specifically to his taste and arranging in the sequencer manually, rather than with the auto-redrum paste to track option?
__________________
5Ghz OC i7 3770K w/ 32gb RAM (Reason 6.5)
M-Audio Oxygen 49 Key Midi
Steinberg UR22 Interface: KRK Rokit 8 G2 Monitors w/ KRK 10S Sub [& Alesis M1 Active Monitors (dual ref)]
VRM Box w/ Senn 280 Pro Headphones
Full Aurelex/NextAcoustics Studio Treatment

Reracks: Too many to list now.. Feel free to ask for reviews.

Highly Rec: Stereo Splitter, Saturation, Faturator, C1-L1 Compressor, Selig Leveler, Unifylter, RE131, G8 Dynamic Gate (DSP hog), Audiomatic, KHs ONE, Viking, Predator, etc.
  #7  
Old 2013-11-15, 17:22
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by sh73888 View Post
Good tip although that sounds like a bear of a process.. for sake of simplicity (and learning about this sweet program finally!), wouldnt he be better off attacking this challenge in audio format - via slicing and arranging the kick audio specifically to his taste and arranging in the sequencer manually, rather than with the auto-redrum paste to track option?
Bear of a process? It probably requires hitting one button: Group Mono. Or you can simply set the entire instrument's polyphony to 1 (mono).

Unless you have already created some separate groups, all your samples will already be in one group..

Of course any similar solution will require a monophonic setting, which means you can't play more than one drum at a time. So maybe your suggestion for audio clips will give the most control (but requires the most work - always a tradeoff!). :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #8  
Old 2013-11-18, 12:55
ta1yn ta1yn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by sh73888 View Post
Good tip although that sounds like a bear of a process.. for sake of simplicity (and learning about this sweet program finally!), wouldnt he be better off attacking this challenge in audio format - via slicing and arranging the kick audio specifically to his taste and arranging in the sequencer manually, rather than with the auto-redrum paste to track option?

i actually just tried that and it sound a heck of alot better although now im challenged with a way of trying to pitch the kick and making it sound good.
  #9  
Old 2013-11-18, 14:00
veezay veezay is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by ta1yn View Post
Im using the ReDrum to make the loop.
You could switch the decay/gate mode on the Redrum's kick channel to 1 (square icon), which means it'll play the sample for the length of the midi note. (If you've used Redrum's own step sequencer, copy the pattern to a track and disable Redrum's pattern section.) Now you can adjust the kick length to your liking.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selectively Disable Overlapping of Samples PumiceT General Forum (read only) 0 2011-12-27 17:00
New FREE samples package(wav)(guitars) (PRO quality) ! compozi General Forum (read only) 0 2003-08-09 14:17
New FREE samples package(wav)(voices) hi quality ! compozi General Forum (read only) 9 2003-07-26 06:05
"Cowboy" samples and pulling samples from DVD's Bloody General Forum (read only) 6 2003-07-09 14:21
Auto Mapping samples??? DjDarkside General Forum (read only) 1 2002-11-12 00:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:01.