Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2002-12-04, 18:37
DjDarkside DjDarkside is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 0
A question for Reason and Sonar users? Audio Quality...

I was wondering if anyone is experiencing the same problem as me, but maybe its not a problem...

I have this track i made in reason routed into sonar with no effects in reason at all, all the effects are in sonar. I notice that the sound in Sonar almost sounds echoy and almost too reverby. Has anyone else experienced this? If so what can you tell me that can fix this?

Darkside
  #2  
Old 2002-12-04, 20:57
alphalock
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: A question for Reason and Sonar users? Audio Quality...

What effects are you using and how? Are you running fxReverb through a bus? Pre/post? There are many reasons why this could happen.

: I have this track i made in reason routed into sonar with no effects in reason at all, all the effects are in sonar. I notice that the sound in Sonar almost sounds echoy and almost too reverby. Has anyone else experienced this? If so what can you tell me that can fix this?
:
arkside
  #3  
Old 2002-12-04, 21:07
DjDarkside DjDarkside is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 0
AlphaLock!!!

well...im using fxreverb, compression, and eq. I have each channel from reason in its own channel in sonar. each track has its own eq and the drums and bass have compression. I also added some fxreverb to the pianos and slightly on the drums and bass. Its most likely the reverb doing this, right? But how do i set the reverb to give a slight amount of the effect? And on the eq..., do you have to adjust all the frequencies? I kno theres no set guide, but just wondering if all the frequncies need to be boosted or cut?

darkside...
  #4  
Old 2002-12-04, 21:56
johna johna is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 0
Re: AlphaLock!!!

:are you aware of the concept of wet and dry mixtures or send and insert effects?


:well...im using fxreverb, compression, and eq. I have each channel from reason in its own channel in sonar. each track has its own eq and the drums and bass have compression. I also added some fxreverb to the pianos and slightly on the drums and bass. Its most likely the reverb doing this, right? But how do i set the reverb to give a slight amount of the effect? And on the eq..., do you have to adjust all the frequencies? I kno theres no set guide, but just wondering if all the frequncies need to be boosted or cut?
:
:darkside...
  #5  
Old 2002-12-04, 23:16
alphalock
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Darkside!!!

The boom and echo is probably a result of two things:

Your signal chain is not optimized or the reverb wetness is too high. This could be compounded by the use of different reverbs at the same time. Make sure your signal chain is correctly optimized by placing your compressor/eq before the reverb in the effects bins. BTW, why so many reverbs? Why not use an aux bus? Reverb is such a delicate thing, it makes us sound great in the shower but too much can ruin a recording. I also wonder how much compressing you have going, are you "squashing" the signals?

  #6  
Old 2002-12-05, 01:11
DjDarkside DjDarkside is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 0
ALPHALOCK!

i AM NOT TO SURE AS OF HOW TO USE THE COMPRESSOR. i DONT KNOW WHAT ALL THE SETTINGS DO. i JUST USE THE PRESETS. SO WHAT SHOULD I PUT IN THE AUX SEND? EQ/COMP AND REVERB? OR DO I STILL EQ AND COMPRESS EVERY TRACK INDIVIDUALLY?

DARKSIDE
  #7  
Old 2002-12-05, 00:15
djmach3 djmach3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 0
No offense but this is a strange thread......

Or am I missing the point?

Andy
  #8  
Old 2002-12-05, 01:12
DjDarkside DjDarkside is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 0
NoNE TAKEN

MISSIN THE POINT...
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:18.