Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2003-05-20, 08:06
Lividrylox Lividrylox is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 0
Dial A for aggravated (Redrum Help)

Livy's back again with another, probably self explanatory, question of the day But I am very greatful for your patience and response:

Okay so I read the Matrix tutorial at the main page and thought that a spiffy idea to route the redrum through the various matrixes and sure enough it sure is a lot easier programming snare roll fade ins and DnB type architectural rythems (even using --I think the same author mentioned it-- the redrum tutorial writer's advice titled "the silence of the mutes") complimentary if opposable to the solo or mute approach.

So I've unleashed the Redrum on an acrobatic alcoholic spree up until I go to any of the Matrixes connected to the 'Rummer there in the Device Rack and choose 'Copy Pattern to Track' and the notes show up all right in the Sequencer and I move them from whichever particular Matrix track to the Redrum track or lane and make sure the Redrum is routed to the Redrum device of the same instance in that lane but alas no sound. So then I go back to the 'Rummer' there and adjust the sounds to make sure the lengths of the samples on the Rum device are all long and gate mode 1 (the non cutting off setting of the two of the decay/gate modes in case that's not it) turn off the matrix in case it's causing a glitch and still no sound in the redrum lane. Being the idiot I am I made sure I hadn't clicked on any of the mixer's solo or mute buttons for any device so it's not that. Then I take that note data that I copied to track out of the redrum's (there's only one redrum so that's not it either) lane and put it in, say, the Maelstrom or Subtractor Synth's Lanes, I then hear the note data. so then I look at the track itself with the data back in the redrum lane on the event level and there's no actual note data there. which then seems familiarily addressed somewhere to me. like there's a conversion ritual or something. what am I missing. I think the Props may've mentioned this somewhere.

I've read the manual and thus far no answer. I'm about to try a workaround with my sanity at this rate. if it weren't for this copy pattern to track nonsense I'd say Reason is perfect but at this rate it just rocks. what is it some kind of patent protection upheld by Steinberg or e-magic or something? I dono HEEEEEEELLP the fledgling fetchling if you can or at least if you're still awake...sorry for the Kerouac Cadillac.


  #2  
Old 2003-05-20, 17:39
blank's Avatar
blank blank is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 620
Re: Dial A for aggravated (Redrum Help)

Bit of a read indeed... it took all my brain power to decipher the actual problem, but I still think I failed. ;-)

I think this might be about Gate vs Decay. People have occasionally been dumbfounded by the fact that 'copy pattern to track' doesn't appear to do the job correctly on first glance.

What happens is, that ReDrum (like most hardware drum machines) doesn't bother itself with note length in its internal sequencer; drum notes are just triggers with unity length (they're very short). So when a ReDrum is playing with itself (pun intended) it will compensate for note duration in accordance with the Length setting on channels that are set to Gate envelope mode.

But when ReDrum is controlled by a sequencer track or incoming MIDI, it works differently: When a ReDrum channel is in Gate mode, the note duration is dependent of the length of the incoming MIDI notes. And since these notes, when copied from pattern to track, are very short (1/32 or whatever it is), the corresponding channels will play very short notes, shorter than what each channel's respective Gate setting would suggest.

Was that clear? I'm not sure I understood it myself...

/Fred
  #3  
Old 2003-05-21, 04:45
Lividrylox Lividrylox is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 0
Re: Dial A for aggravated (Redrum Help)

:Bit of a read indeed... it took all my brain power to decipher the actual problem, but I still think I failed. ;-)
:
:I think this might be about Gate vs Decay. People have occasionally been dumbfounded by the fact that 'copy pattern to track' doesn't appear to do the job correctly on first glance.
:
:What happens is, that ReDrum (like most hardware drum machines) doesn't bother itself with note length in its internal sequencer; drum notes are just triggers with unity length (they're very short). So when a ReDrum is playing with itself (pun intended) it will compensate for note duration in accordance with the Length setting on channels that are set to Gate envelope mode.
:
:But when ReDrum is controlled by a sequencer track or incoming MIDI, it works differently: When a ReDrum channel is in Gate mode, the note duration is dependent of the length of the incoming MIDI notes. And since these notes, when copied from pattern to track, are very short (1/32 or whatever it is), the corresponding channels will play very short notes, shorter than what each channel's respective Gate setting would suggest.
:
:Was that clear? I'm not sure I understood it myself...
:
:/Fred



::Livy scribbled back::

Yah, I think so, again sorry for the read, I like to be thorough and always turn out overbearing if not scatological as well, as I'm thinking things out when I type. seriously, no drug addiction, I swear. dude I go on like a dame...

Anyhow, what you posted makes sense though I'm not even seeing the event data in the drum lane on the redrum sequencer track. I tried to extend out each sound as far as possible on the redrum itself to compensate for the cutoff possibility but from what you're saying it is to be done in the sequencer. yet, the event data that IS there is in the Key Lane only and shows those notes for the redrum like a few blocks long (I have the q-grid set to 1/64rezzers or whatevers), reasonably long enough, without changing the events, to sound like a quarter note in standard time in the SUb or Mal. but your saying like draw them out like 50 blocks (exag.) or something though to compensate for how Mistress MIDI nabs at the Rummer? but why aren't they in the drum lane? that would solve everything. and I don't think I'll be able to hear it anyhow without them in the Rummers drum lane. So how do I get the data into the drum lane. should this procedure've been met in some revision by the props already if it does not exist in some other form for this workaround predicament? I'm asking for a Glass Palace?

I have a thought, do I just use the Matrixes as the front end (term.?) for the redrum which then becomes the sound module for them and then somehow get those Matpats onto the sequencer and bounce down with the entirety and them rolling I wonder? the matrixes in effect becomes the drum module? holy crap could you imagine all those individual characters sifting down the gangrenous screen as the frequencies in their own plethora vexing percussion lines? (sorry just saw the movie)...outside reference parley. nevermind. thanks greatfully for responding though, I'll try both approaches.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:56.