Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

Old 2003-11-01, 11:22

Where you start when writing a new song?

When you guys are writing a new tune do you start writing from the beginning/intro and work towards the end? Do you start in the middle and expand outward? Do you come up with some melodies first then work around that?

Just curious. I'm writing some trance which is all 4/4 but trying new and different approaches.

Thanks,
-m
Old 2003-11-01, 11:40

Re: Where you start when writing a new song?

:When you guys are writing a new tune do you start writing from the beginning/intro and work towards the end? Do you start in the middle and expand outward? Do you come up with some melodies first then work around that?
:
:Just curious. I'm writing some trance which is all 4/4 but trying new and different approaches.
:
:Thanks,
:-m
:

hello there

i'm quite new to reason and struggle how to get my thing which is in my head to tunes. anyway, when i have a melody, or that can be just a sound i heard somewhere or something i just picked up (wierd things sometimes), i try to get it out of reason the exact way i have in my head. and at that point i dont know if its the start/midle/end of a song. i just continue and create and try to put the tunes/sounds/noise or whatever, together. so in fact i dont have a plan or a structure i follow, it just happens.

cheers
Old 2003-11-01, 18:38

Any way you want but this is how I do it...

You can check my methods at the link below...
- DJDM
Scroll to "How do you write a track?"
Old 2003-11-02, 09:14

interesting read

its always cool to see whether or not people use similar methods to the way i do things. its cool when u open up a really good rns/rps and they have a certain effect set up exactly like you do
Old 2003-11-01, 21:22