Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

Old 2004-10-11, 19:24
kmonkey22

Dr.REX sound BUG ? No newbie stuff ;) For mad users only ;)

Hello to all! Right on start i will mention few things just to clear things out.

This is not any kind of flame post or such.

I am pretty new to all this Reasonish things so i experiment with some stuff.
As far as i can see in this forum many users complain about Reason sound engine etc. Well this is not that kind of post since this is not true. 95% of this users dont know how to mix properly so they have muddy and bad mixes (this is especialy true at reasonstation.net)...my two cent for others

Good musician know how to get good mix even with poor tools(if he know them). Bad cant with five superb tools
That is true and that will always be true.

This post is intended for people with good monitor systems, some listening skills and if possible for technical support and answers.

During this i have in my mind famous
-3dB headroom on any sound imported in Reason. This change in volume is not problem on any kind (for me since this can be "fixed" (this is not right word since there is no anything to fix) in last stage of mastering. I see that many users grab this so called issue for major Reason problem but this is pathetic and now even more since we can buy various tools like L3 Ultramaximizer

Again this is a very, very listening test so good monitors are needed, but this can be heared even with some good headphones.

I tested this on Alesis M1 Active MKII and i have pretty good acoustic treatment in room-just to mention. For headphone test i used Sony MDR-V700.
Quality audio card with good ASIO drivers is needed too.

Take my big apologise for bad english. I will try to be clear best i can

Now when i put things in its own direction lets start.

During my testing with Dr.REX i found few things that confuse me so i prepare few examples whish can be downloaded. Links are at the end of post.