Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2004-11-30, 04:57
eric's Avatar
eric eric is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,767
People just face it; Reason rules again! :) [n/t]

  #2  
Old 2004-11-30, 07:15
AlexNieves AlexNieves is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 0
Re: People just face it; Reason rules again! :) [n/t]

Reason is very good, I give you that.
Its fast its easy and quick on music production making. But like what my friend DJ Bobby Rios says. In order for reason to be Over The TOP and take a huge leap into peoples proffessional music productions like Digital Performer, Logic, Cubase-SX and other softwares. Reason need to have the abilities of recording vocals directly.

There are many users that can not afford to purchase 2 or more music softwares with the prices they are offering just to record vocals and do music productions. With rent payments and other important bills, they are not going to fool around with their bill money to purchase 2 or more music production softwares. ALSO, many users dont have enough CPU power to operate reason and other vocal recording programs via Rewire. The only CPU that can do it without flinching is AMD-FX-53, and this has been prooven and charted by music proffessionals, But that CPU cost 1,200 dollars just for the CPU alone. and you need a special motherboard to use it, at that.

People want to make music the easyest way possible with what they have. And not spend tons of money that belongs to bills doing so. People also dont have the money to purchase Digi-001. And you have to understand that, becuase people need to pay bills first. But with the love of music, they try their best to make music.
This is where Reason falls in.

Its a affordable software but lacks the recording of vocals and usage of VST's. Maybe reason is trying to stay old school. And i totally understand that. But ask yourself. Do most people that have bills and normal job, can afford to keep buying 2 or more softwares to make music and record vocals? No they dont.

A normal computer with its DDR-RAM dont cut it either. I know becuase i have tryed it on several computers maxed out. Reason studders when using Cubase-SX or Logic via Rewire and aswell as running units like the NNXT and you have alot of midi tracks running in reason with FX and automation. As it hogs tons of CPU power and aswell as clipped very easy as you hear the digital noises when using ASIO. Also all this and using ASIO makes it worse becuase now the computer CPU has to compusate for the ASIO drivers and algorythmes aswell.
So Professionals like DJ Bobby Rios uses the sampler and cuts up the vocals and imports them in. Becuase this is the only choice he has.
But he has only one choice becuase of the lack of vocal recording in reason as he likes to use only one program for recording vocals aswell as midi programming of music that he does. But this task take's alot of time.

Its proovin that reason can do alot of work and task, but like DJ Bobby Rios did on his remix of the most famous remix of Celine Dion "I Drove All Night". Reason studdered like crazy and was driving Bobby Up the wall, but he did get the remix done.

The other thing is Reasons mixer is only intended for high and low EQ. and not Mid-EQ. which then users has to now open a EQ unit just to get a nice EQ, Hence more CPU taken away. The mixer should have at least a 4 band parametric EQ in their mixer on each channel.

Also, if your a good listener and have great ears, Listen to reason with your track playing. Then take that same track, and play it through rewire via another software like Cusbase-SX. believe it or not. the harmonic's are better and the sound quality is greater, warmer and puchyer when listening to it through rewire on Cubase-SX or Logic. Why is that.??
Reason needs to work on the sound engine more to get the same quality of these other proffesional music production softwares.
Dont get me wrong, reason is great for fast music productions. But cutting it as a proffessional record releasing and major production, it needs work.

People are asking for these feature, but reason intends not to go that route. Why i have no clue.

I believe that if Reason give the people who uses their software and actually release official records with it.
And be in compitition and try to have music production software users to go over to reason as their main software for music. They need to emplement and adhear to the demands that people are asking for.
They will be the greatest software on earth. becuase not only can you have synths and samplers that are off the wall, but also be able to have the abilities to record vocals aswell and the abilities to use VSTs. AND DONT FORGET make your own sounds and refills.
Geez the possibilites are endless.

No other software can do that. not even the most costly softwares like Protools can do that.
So just think of how many people will then run and maybe switch their music programs just becuase of these vocal recording abilties and VST usage and many features of reason and the ease of use of reason.
People yet to take reason serious due to some of its flaws of what people dont see, but yet are requesting and demanding it to be implemented in reason.
If people are asking for it, its for a reason. Becuase the want it, and they want to switch and make reason their main music program.
The Ultimate Reason that no other software can compair too.

Something to think about reason.
  #3  
Old 2004-11-30, 07:37
severance severance is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 36
Re: People just face it; Reason rules again! :) [n/t]

"The only CPU that can do it without flinching is AMD-FX-53 "

Sorry but this is not true at all.
Sure an AMD FX ( 51 53 or 55) wil do the job much better, but I do not have problems with my Athlon XP 3000+.

Mostly I work with Reason rewired to Cubase SX 2 with out problems and on top of that is Gigastudio running .
  #4  
Old 2004-11-30, 08:04
Auditory Auditory is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 454
Re: People just face it; Reason rules again! :) [n/t]

recording into reason would make things quite easier for me
  #5  
Old 2004-11-30, 18:43
severance severance is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 36
Re: People just face it; Reason rules again! :) [n/t]

"recording into reason would make things quite easier for me"


you know... everyone has its own workflow
  #6  
Old 2008-11-26, 19:46
JonHoskin JonHoskin is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Recording vocals or other live instruments doesnt have to be crazy expensive try free ware one really good piece of freeware is audacity it is available for mac and pc and does everything you could ask for (keeping in mind it's free of course) all you need now is some kind of audio interface i recommend the edirol ua 25 it's reasonably priced and sound quality is great it even has phantom power (as long as your very carefull i have looked after mine like it was my own child and alas i think after 2 years it's gonna die on me).
  #7  
Old 2008-11-27, 17:52
bits24
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by auditory View Post
recording into reason would make things quite easier for me
+1000!!!!!
  #8  
Old 2008-11-29, 04:54
Ogggy's Avatar
Ogggy Ogggy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexNieves View Post
Also, if your a good listener and have great ears, Listen to reason with your track playing. Then take that same track, and play it through rewire via another software like Cusbase-SX. believe it or not. the harmonic's are better and the sound quality is greater, warmer and puchyer when listening to it through rewire on Cubase-SX or Logic. Why is that.??
Reason needs to work on the sound engine more to get the same quality of these other proffesional music production softwares.
Dont get me wrong, reason is great for fast music productions. But cutting it as a proffessional record releasing and major production, it needs work.
I have wondered about this. Yes, I have heard it, but do not necessarily automatically to consider it a plus. It is coloring the content.

I've kinda given up on this, tho. I think everything, everything, the cleanest SSL board (which are of course not clean at all and one of the reasons they are so revered), the volume pedal built upon optielectronics specifically so that it will have no impact, the Boss stomp pedal that you open up and find like three components, the tiniest little nothing program in your Mac/PC, everything, everything, everything, has, "a sound". Maybe it's related to the Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle- that there is simply no possible way to even just look at something without effecting it (I hope I got that right, it's been a hell of a long time since high school chemistry and physics).

The Prop's have stated time and time again, it's just numbers- what goes in, comes out. Hookay, so they don't allow as much "in".

Many times we have seen the argument, with the experimental examples of add the version to the anti-version and there should be NO output if there is no "colorizing" (or actually, then, the bitch was all about sample perfect time rendering). How do these other programs fare in these tests? I doubt they could stand up to it, since I also (like you) think they do have an impact on what they process.

Do YOU want to give up your own skillz to some unknown voodoo processing inside some other program? Seems to me, that's YOUR job.

On the other hand, as the bear scratches his hindside on the tree in the woods, if it feels good, DO IT!

But you want them to change the "engine". Are you up for it? Do you know, really know, what you want? How many is you? How many will be happy with what you want?

Joe Walsh- "Seems to me, you don't want to talk about it.
Seems to me, you can just turn your pretty head and walk awa-a-ay."

Last edited by Ogggy; 2008-11-29 at 05:10.
  #9  
Old 2008-11-29, 09:34
eric's Avatar
eric eric is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ogggy View Post
I have wondered about this. Yes, I have heard it, but do not necessarily automatically to consider it a plus. It is coloring the content.

I've kinda given up on this, tho. I think everything, everything, the cleanest SSL board (which are of course not clean at all and one of the reasons they are so revered), the volume pedal built upon optielectronics specifically so that it will have no impact, the Boss stomp pedal that you open up and find like three components, the tiniest little nothing program in your Mac/PC, everything, everything, everything, has, "a sound". Maybe it's related to the Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle- that there is simply no possible way to even just look at something without effecting it (I hope I got that right, it's been a hell of a long time since high school chemistry and physics).

The Prop's have stated time and time again, it's just numbers- what goes in, comes out. Hookay, so they don't allow as much "in".

Many times we have seen the argument, with the experimental examples of add the version to the anti-version and there should be NO output if there is no "colorizing" (or actually, then, the bitch was all about sample perfect time rendering). How do these other programs fare in these tests? I doubt they could stand up to it, since I also (like you) think they do have an impact on what they process.

Do YOU want to give up your own skillz to some unknown voodoo processing inside some other program? Seems to me, that's YOUR job.

On the other hand, as the bear scratches his hindside on the tree in the woods, if it feels good, DO IT!

But you want them to change the "engine". Are you up for it? Do you know, really know, what you want? How many is you? How many will be happy with what you want?

Joe Walsh- "Seems to me, you don't want to talk about it.
Seems to me, you can just turn your pretty head and walk awa-a-ay."
Perhaps I may not say this, but I'm really happy that Reason is (being) developed in Scandinavia, since Scandinavia stands for quality..
  #10  
Old 2008-11-30, 01:49
marlonbacon marlonbacon is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
you seem to know what u are taking about, ive been on this for a few months and i cant get as excited about it, do u know how to make combinations of instruments, i want to make a dum combination of to drums u know. if i cant then that makes me less happy to use this, i want to really enjoy as i hear so much aout it. now i know how to tweak the parameters of the drusm and give it different sounds even make it clap ut i need to learn hwo to make a combo patch its mess up the way i produce and i cant have that if u know anything please point me in the right direction.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:23.