Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2005-01-25, 21:25
jcd3rd
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Sequenced in Reason mixed in Sonar 4

Hey guys!!!!

I'm new here...and I have to say this is one of the best, if not the best musician's forum on the net.

Please check out www.soundclick.com/multiphonik and listen to my tracks there. Specifically "Raver's Paradise" which got the most positive response from friends and listeners alike. A little info on "Raver's Paradise" ;

I sequenced the basic structure of the track in Reason 2.5 (drum patterns, bass, a few synths etc.). Additional synth lops were proggramed using FL Studio 4.5 and Project 5 then were converted to REX files to be sequenced in Reason. After I made the basic stucture of the track, I stemmed the parts to .wav....for those of you who are not familiar with stemming....stemming is basically exporting mixed-down parts to audio then resequencing them into the DAW...in my case Sonar 4. I did the steming this way. I did a mix-down of the drum part (kick, snare, hats etc.) to a stereo track. I exported the bass alone so I can tweak it. I did a mix-down of the synths. I mixed down the piano part so I can use the reverb in Sonar 4. By the time I stemmed the piano, Reason's job was over. Now in Sonar 4 I lined up the tracks again (the project's tempo is 136), did a quick mix, then I added textures using Absynth 3. After that I applied a tube effect to the bass, I used IK multimedia's Amplitube for that. Then I added my compressions to the drums and the bass to give them a little more punch. Then I added BBE sonic Maximizer to the drums to fine tune it. Then I did my automations, volume envelopes etc. Then after this I did the final mix to the track, mixed it down to stereo .wav file, applied my final EQ to the mix, put some compression, then maximized for the final volume of the track, all of which I did using Waves Diamond Bundle.

For any feedbacks on "Raver's Paradise" or my experimental ethnic track "Kultura" please post it here, or email me at migzman@tri-isys.com

Peace and Respect
-Miguel (multiphonik)
  #2  
Old 2005-01-25, 23:17
NOISTEK's Avatar
NOISTEK NOISTEK is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2
That's the way man...


Sounds prety nifty. Not quite unlike how I do things these days.
Check out my site: www.noistek.com
I used Reason as you do, to create the drum tracks and the layout. Vox samples/ weird f/x whatever...
Then (in the case of the slightly older songs on the website), I simply rewired each reason "track" thru Live (3) and I used Live's compressors, EQs and various f/x. Then I mastered it all with the help of a free maximizer/limiter (Digitalfish's DOMINION, great device, a bit of a strain on the ol' CPU tho.)
I have since replaced Live with Sonar due to it's lesser usage on my CPU and its plug-in support.
Good luck!
www.noistek.com
  #3  
Old 2005-01-26, 04:14
Moshang's Avatar
Moshang Moshang is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Re: Sequenced in Reason mixed in Sonar 4


Good stuff, Miguel

I especially enjoyed Kultura...
Yip, following a similar process of composing in Reason and mixing in Sonar.

new music
  #4  
Old 2005-01-26, 14:59
jcd3rd
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sequenced in Reason mixed in Sonar 4

Hey guys it's me again...I just want to thank everyone who took their time to listen to my tracks over at soundclick. I'd also like to give a shout out to NOISTEK and Moshang for their responses...means a lot. For those who haven't checked out my tracks you could listen to them at www.soundclick.com/multiphonik.....these tracks will be included in my album that's currently in the works.....90% of the tracks that will be featured on the record made, use of Reason 2.5 as the initial sequencer....basically for the framework of the tracks....then are stemmed to Soanr 4 for additional stuff and the final mix. Thanks again and keep on listening.

Peace and Respect,
-Miguel (multiphonik)
  #5  
Old 2005-06-14, 02:19
klactose klactose is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Re: Sequenced in Reason mixed in Sonar 4 - Help!

Hello all... I have several songs that have been composed in Reason 2.5 that I am trying to record into Sonar 4 Pro. Is it possible to do this? I am able to rewire Reason to Sonar and I even am able to get the audio playing, but since the record button on the individual tracks disappears once you select a Reason channel as the input it seems that you can only mix the audio on the fly as opposed to recording the audio and manipulating it from within Sonar. If anyone has any insight about this please share it! I really hope there is a way to record presequenced Reason tracks into Sonar.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:24.