Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2006-04-01, 12:19
dubaifox dubaifox is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 0
Change your cables for better sound!!!!!

Many people complain about the thin, tinny and low-res sound of Reason 3.0.

I have found a solution. The patch cables used to connect the mixer and audio devices are poorly shielded and of low grade. There are also some quality control issues with these stock cables and connectors.

It was recommended to me to change the cables with higher quality ones and my gosh, you wouldn't believe the difference. I now hear such amazing detail and clarity with all of the samples I load into Reason. If you want your Reason tracks to have that pristine sound of a sample library that cost's 10 times what you paid for Reason then change the audio cables! It was worth every penny and several of my clients , while not being able to identify why, have said my music "just sounds better."

PM me if you want me to email you the PDF file that tells you how to do this simple, inexpensive procedure.
  #2  
Old 2006-04-01, 14:17
omnyc omnyc is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 0
Re: Change your cables for better sound!!!!!

monster cables rock i have noticed the difference with my R3.04...i also suggest to upgraded the cables best dinero you can spend...

peace
mike


: Many people complain about the thin, tinny and low-res sound of Reason 3.0.
:
: I have found a solution. The patch cables used to connect the mixer and audio devices are poorly shielded and of low grade. There are also some quality control issues with these stock cables and connectors.
:
: It was recommended to me to change the cables with higher quality ones and my gosh, you wouldn't believe the difference. I now hear such amazing detail and clarity with all of the samples I load into Reason. If you want your Reason tracks to have that pristine sound of a sample library that cost's 10 times what you paid for Reason then change the audio cables! It was worth every penny and several of my clients , while not being able to identify why, have said my music "just sounds better."
:
: PM me if you want me to email you the PDF file that tells you how to do this simple, inexpensive procedure.
  #3  
Old 2006-04-01, 15:21
Sipher's Avatar
Sipher Sipher is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 417
Re: Change your cables for better sound!!!!!

i use moogami and neutrik connectors, huge diffrence in sound, also cheaper if you buy the cable and connectors in bulk. and just solder away, neatly of course.
  #4  
Old 2006-04-01, 15:32
dawelo1958's Avatar
dawelo1958 dawelo1958 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 577
You're not paying attention!

"The patch cables used to connect the mixer and audio devices..."


;o)
  #5  
Old 2006-04-01, 17:24
MElder100 MElder100 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 0
Re: You're not paying attention!

: "The patch cables used to connect the mixer and audio devices..."
:
:
: ;o)

Are you taking the ****?
  #6  
Old 2006-04-01, 17:46
dubaifox dubaifox is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 0
Re: You're not paying attention!

: You also want to disable the cable animation feature when you TAB to see the back of the rack. This can cause the connectors to come loose from the cabeling.

I had a Maelstrom patch that was only coming through the left channel, and it turned out that one of the cable jack had come loose because I do have the habit of checking the back of my rack about every five minutes or so to see where my misplaced tweezers and coffee mugs might be.

Very hard on those flimsy cables.
  #7  
Old 2006-04-01, 18:45
dawelo1958's Avatar
dawelo1958 dawelo1958 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 577
Re: You're not paying attention!

: : You also want to disable the cable animation feature when you TAB to see the back of the rack. This can cause the connectors to come loose from the cabeling.
:
: I had a Maelstrom patch that was only coming through the left channel, and it turned out that one of the cable jack had come loose because I do have the habit of checking the back of my rack about every five minutes or so to see where my misplaced tweezers and coffee mugs might be.
:
: Very hard on those flimsy cables.

There is also some preliminary evidence that use of the Hide Cables option can have undesired effects. It seems that when cables are made invisible and then made visible again that a certain amount of the cable fails to reappear.
At the present time it is believed that only a microscopic amount is lost each time. The concern is that over time the effect may become cumulative.

Some users who have been with Reason since 1.0 report significant loss of signal strength.

Registered owners who have any concerns can send the suspect cable to Propellerhead Support for a free (S&H not included) replacement.
  #8  
Old 2006-04-01, 20:59
omnyc omnyc is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 0
Re: You're not paying attention!

i try not to mess around behind the rack to much these days. i once got electrocuted while trying to route my redrum thru the vocoder into the subtractor. don't worry tho i am ok...i think don't it caused to damage much. and the blue light that shot across the room was sick! i wish i was videotaping could of made a cool music video effect. anyway.

what were we talking about?





: : You also want to disable the cable animation feature when you TAB to see the back of the rack. This can cause the connectors to come loose from the cabeling.
:
: I had a Maelstrom patch that was only coming through the left channel, and it turned out that one of the cable jack had come loose because I do have the habit of checking the back of my rack about every five minutes or so to see where my misplaced tweezers and coffee mugs might be.
:
: Very hard on those flimsy cables.
  #9  
Old 2006-04-03, 01:16
RadShannon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Magic

: i try not to mess around behind the rack to much these days. i once got electrocuted while trying to route my redrum thru the vocoder into the subtractor.

I thought I was the only one......

my personal bad expirence was spilling a full 40 of Olde English on my NNXT...I let the magic smoke out and now it won't work . or the time my Dog urinated on my Remix's power supply and became an ash cone...

But as far as sound quality...oh yes I agree with above about replacing connectors and such in good order...And it serves the Props right for being caught doing sneaky things. (HEHEHEHHEHE)

-Radshannon
  #10  
Old 2006-04-03, 01:54
Marando's Avatar
Marando Marando is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 8
I did an awesome mod, I made it all digital!!

Yes, it whas hard work, but I have made a digital modification. Now I don't have to worrie about noise anymore. Only problem is that those digital cables are not very flexible and they are kind of expensive. And in my latest setup, I need about 100+ cables, so yeah, it has it's disadvantage.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:33.