Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

Old 2006-06-02, 03:54

Mixing and Mastering processes used in Reason

Ok, I have been tampering with Reason for about a year now, and I would say that I'm not a newbie by any stretch, nor am I a professional by any stretch, I'm suspended in the middle somewhere.

I thought after all this trial and error (pretty much a whole year and thousands of CD's with one or two of my songs burned on them) I thought I had figured out how to mix my songs and have it sounding professional.

Basically, what I have been doing for the last month, is composing and arranging my beat.. first of all..

and then while all instruments in the mixer are still at 100 and 0 Pan, I crank the master Mixer volume up to 127.

I then go through each of my instruments solo, and adjust their master levels up or down until they are a few decibals below the clipping point. (I watch the red 'Audio Out Clip' light in the bottom left corner as my guide, and adjust the levels until the light goes off indicating the instrument is not clipping at any point.)

After adjusting all the instruments individually I bring the master volume back down to 100. The beat sounds cleaner and more quiet, and nothing is clipping.

Then I use my ears and my studio monitors to evenly distribute the sound using slight volume adjustments and panning in the main mixer.

I hook up compression to my Kick and my Snare to boost their power a little but make sure they do not clip, and I find that a Stereo Imager set to 'Solo Lo Band' filter with the Lo Band knob all the way to the left and the X-Over frequency set to 210 will help when applied to you Kick and your Bass. it will help keep it centered in the mix and add a little punch.