Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-03-25, 06:09
DJSlipside's Avatar
DJSlipside DJSlipside is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Unhappy Reason 6 freezing at startup

Is my laptop not powerful enough. I previously owned 4.0 and it worked. I have a Vaio Laptop with 8gig ram and Intel Core i3-350 processor. It freezes at the splash screen when starting up.
  #2  
Old 2012-03-25, 06:26
SteveDiverse's Avatar
SteveDiverse SteveDiverse is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,612
i3/8G should be good to run R6. did you install the current download v6.02?
Do you have the right (current) ASIO drivers/etc?
__________________

HP Pavillion DV7T-3300 Laptop | i7 Q720 @ 1.6 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win7 Pro 64-bit
m-audio Axiom Pro 61 keyboard controller || iPad2 | RetouchControl DUO | TouchOSC | LoopBe30 MIDI
m-audio Mobile Pre USB (original) audio interface | ASIO4ALL || RĂ˜DE NT-3 mic
Reason 6.5.3 || Pulsar | Saturation Knob | Rough Rider | TSAR-1 | Uhbik-A | Re-Tron | Polar | Echobode | Uhbik Q | Uhbik F | Morfin XF | Uhbik S | Uhbik D | Uhbik G | CV Suite Line Processor | wbl5515 | Uhbik P | RE-2A | Radical Piano
  #3  
Old 2012-03-25, 17:43
DJSlipside's Avatar
DJSlipside DJSlipside is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
I installed v6.02 and downloaded Asio4all

Still freezing.
  #4  
Old 2012-03-25, 18:45
3rdFloorSound's Avatar
3rdFloorSound 3rdFloorSound is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10,762
Try deleting your preferences file.
Windows: C:\Documents and Settings\YOURNAME\Application Data\Propellerhead Software\Reason
Never remember where it is on mac.
__________________
  #5  
Old 2012-03-25, 23:46
DJSlipside's Avatar
DJSlipside DJSlipside is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Tried that. I start the program and it asks me to accept the license agreement and then goes to the splash page likes it's loading up and then freezes and asks me to force close.
  #6  
Old 2012-03-26, 00:19
3rdFloorSound's Avatar
3rdFloorSound 3rdFloorSound is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10,762
I wonder if it's codemeter. Try reinstalling that lil bugger/check to see if it's the newest version.
__________________
  #7  
Old 2012-03-26, 03:31
DJSlipside's Avatar
DJSlipside DJSlipside is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
I reinstalled codemeter and that didn't work either.


I am going to restore my laptop to factory status and wipe everything and will try installing reason first.

Last edited by DJSlipside; 2012-03-26 at 03:42.
  #8  
Old 2012-03-26, 04:11
3rdFloorSound's Avatar
3rdFloorSound 3rdFloorSound is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10,762
Whoa, going drastic on this one! Well I guess if anything is going to fix it, that will.
__________________
  #9  
Old 2012-03-26, 05:59
DJSlipside's Avatar
DJSlipside DJSlipside is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
That fixed it. Now I am curious to see if it still will be running ok once I install all my other programs (Ableton, Virtual DJ, etc.)
  #10  
Old 2012-03-29, 00:31
DJSlipside's Avatar
DJSlipside DJSlipside is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
So after I reloaded all my other programs, Reason started freezing at start up again. I am re installing the computer once again and this time I will test out Reason each time I add a new driver or program. There is a weird conflict going on and I will try to pin point it.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popular Plugins as Combinator Patches NoelGMusic Phead User Forum (read only) 216 2013-09-25 02:12
Why I simply cannot bring myself to buy Reason kolakube General Forum (read only) 156 2013-03-23 00:37
Musikmesse - any news from the propellerhead booth? -nt electrofux General Forum (read only) 22 2007-03-31 18:25
Reason / DP / OMS Test Results Within... arothman General Forum (read only) 2 2003-03-05 03:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:38.