Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-05-08, 21:16
wjoyce wjoyce is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 27
Transfer licence from Mac to PC?

Hi,

I'm looking to buy a used copy of Reason 6. It's Reason 2, 3 & 4 all boxed and a boxed upgrade to 6, but the current owner states that it says "Reason 6 Mac" on his licence page.

As I don't have a Mac, will the licence work on the PC after transfer?

Thanks,
Bod
  #2  
Old 2012-05-08, 21:34
StormCanada StormCanada is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,826
The license will work on either platform. The license only dictates which version of Reason you can install and run. And since Reason is multi-platform you are fine with what you want to do.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
| new reijo track - storm on lead guitar
  #3  
Old 2012-05-08, 21:39
SteveDiverse's Avatar
SteveDiverse SteveDiverse is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjoyce View Post
Hi,

I'm looking to buy a used copy of Reason 6. It's Reason 2, 3 & 4 all boxed and a boxed upgrade to 6, but the current owner states that it says "Reason 6 Mac" on his licence page.

As I don't have a Mac, will the licence work on the PC after transfer?
Yes. The license works on both MAC and PC.

Once the seller transfers the 'license' to your account, you're probably best to download Reason 6, v2.06 from this site, via the "Downloads" link at the top of the page.

FYI, it sounds like you are purchasing from someone who originally bought Reason 2 and has upgraded a few times to Reason 6. This means that they have to transfer all of the licenses (sounds like that's what they plan to do).

Just to be safe, if you haven't read these already, you should, so you know what the the seller has to do - and what you should expect to receive:

Buying: http://www.propellerheads.se/support...le=buysell_buy

Selling: http://www.propellerheads.se/support...e=buysell_sell
__________________

HP Pavillion DV7T-3300 Laptop | i7 Q720 @ 1.6 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win7 Pro 64-bit
m-audio Axiom Pro 61 keyboard controller || iPad2 | RetouchControl DUO | TouchOSC | LoopBe30 MIDI
m-audio Mobile Pre USB (original) audio interface | ASIO4ALL || RØDE NT-3 mic
Reason 6.5.3 || Pulsar | Saturation Knob | Rough Rider | TSAR-1 | Uhbik-A | Re-Tron | Polar | Echobode | Uhbik Q | Uhbik F | Morfin XF | Uhbik S | Uhbik D | Uhbik G | CV Suite Line Processor | wbl5515 | Uhbik P | RE-2A | Radical Piano
  #4  
Old 2012-05-09, 04:38
Danoc's Avatar
Danoc Danoc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,231
Yep it does, because I have a Mac Pro Intel desk, and a PC XP and it works fine on both. When I have a quick idea I use now the PC and then take out my dongle when I am ready to rock on the Mac and put my dongle in and it works on the Mac also.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wjoyce View Post
Hi,

I'm looking to buy a used copy of Reason 6. It's Reason 2, 3 & 4 all boxed and a boxed upgrade to 6, but the current owner states that it says "Reason 6 Mac" on his licence page.

As I don't have a Mac, will the licence work on the PC after transfer?

Thanks,
Bod
__________________
http://soundcloud.com/danoc44/ahmir-da-n-o-c-remix
Remix by the Da N.O.C. for AHMIR!!! DONE IN RECORD!!!
  #5  
Old 2012-05-09, 23:58
wjoyce wjoyce is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 27
Thanks for the replies. I'm just waiting for the licence to be transferred now. Can't wait
  #6  
Old 2012-05-14, 10:47
wjoyce wjoyce is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 27
The sale fell through due a problematic dongle.

Anybody have a Reason 6 license to sell in the UK?
  #7  
Old 2012-05-14, 14:31
Grumbleweed's Avatar
Grumbleweed Grumbleweed is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveDiverse View Post
Once the seller transfers the 'license' to your account, you're probably best to download Reason 6, v2.06 from this site, via the "Downloads" link at the top of the page.
Surely it's v6.0.2?

http://www.propellerheads.se/downloa...icle=reason602

Grum (the man with a 4:2 line mixer ).
__________________
Soundcloud Soundclick Bandcamp DeadSpace
Reason 7, Sonar X3e Producer, Balance, Chillblast built desktop PC with an i7 3770K (@4.2 Ghz), 8 Gig RAM, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit.
  #8  
Old 2012-05-14, 23:23
wjoyce wjoyce is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 27
We all knew what he meant...
  #9  
Old 2012-05-15, 10:14
Grumbleweed's Avatar
Grumbleweed Grumbleweed is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjoyce View Post
We all knew what he meant...
I know we all knew what he meant but if the man in question read the post he would know why I wrote it (I left a clue).
Just having some fun.

Grum.
__________________
Soundcloud Soundclick Bandcamp DeadSpace
Reason 7, Sonar X3e Producer, Balance, Chillblast built desktop PC with an i7 3770K (@4.2 Ghz), 8 Gig RAM, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit.
  #10  
Old 2012-06-06, 21:49
adampasternak adampasternak is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Storm:

I am in a similar situation but want to buy a new copy of Reason 6.0 from the website.

Right now I am on a windows platform, and I want to get started working soon. In a year or so I will most likely move over to a Mac platform. In that case, I would just download the Mac version of Reason 6.0, install, plug my USB key into the new Mac, and it should work just fine?

In a similar sense, can I keep two Reason 6.0 installs (one on windows machine - old, one on mac machine - new ) and use the same USB dongle key with both systems? So long as only 1 copy of Reason is being run at any time, this is all good with the licensing agreement yes?

Thanks for your help, from a n00b.

- A
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Licence transfer ArticalDan General Forum (read only) 11 2012-04-30 10:53
Licence Transfer jpphillippe General Forum (read only) 11 2011-10-08 00:32
Licence transfer page. ktwalker Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2010-06-10 08:18
Licence Transfer Confusion Kronsteen Phead User Forum (read only) 4 2010-06-09 06:43
Transfer of licence! ktwalker Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2009-09-06 07:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:09.