Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-06-13, 19:09
Bluefish Bluefish is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 6
No audio output from Balance

Just got a new computer. Installed the 1.0.24 driver for the Balance, then installed Reason. Selected ASIO Balance from the Preferences: Audio tab in Reason. Input works fine, but not a sound from the headphones (tried using Balance and headphones on the old computer, so they both work). There does not appear to be any difference in the settings between the old and new computers under Control Panel: Hardware and Sound: Sound: Manage Audio Devices. There is also no sound when select Test for the Balance under Control Panel: Hardware and Sound: Sound: Manage Audio Devices: Playback: Properties: Advanced. When I switch in Reason to the DX Primary Sound Driver under Audio, sound comes from the computer's speakers.

I even tried doing a system restore and installing Reason first, then the Balance driver. And I tried to find an answer by searching the forum, but "no audio output" brings up 2,000 results, the first several hundred of which were not helpful to this problem. Thanks for any suggestions.
  #2  
Old 2012-06-14, 19:59
Bluefish Bluefish is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 6
Just in case this comes up for anyone else, the answer is.....

USB 3.0

I had no idea this computer had USB 3.0. On this computer the 3.0 ports can be identified by a blue piece of plastic in the port, rather than black. Switched to one of the non-3.0 ports, and all is well.
  #3  
Old 2012-06-14, 20:58
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Balance required a USB 2 port and doesn't play nice with USB 3 ports in backward compatibility mode
  #4  
Old 2012-06-14, 21:21
MattiasHG's Avatar
MattiasHG MattiasHG is offline
Propellerhead
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0ahg View Post
Balance required a USB 2 port and doesn't play nice with USB 3 ports in backward compatibility mode
Interestingly enough it seems to work with the brand spankin' new MacBook Airs with USB3. We're thoroughly investigating this still though.
__________________
  #5  
Old 2012-06-14, 23:50
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattiasHG View Post
Interestingly enough it seems to work with the brand spankin' new MacBook Airs with USB3. We're thoroughly investigating this still though.
That's great to hear and I'll look forward to an official announcement. All the available USB 3 ports up to now have been implemented using a 3rd party chip but the new macbook pro is using the Intel produced integrated implementation supporting ivy bridge so if it works on MacBook pro it should work under windows.
  #6  
Old 2012-06-14, 23:58
martyn356's Avatar
martyn356 martyn356 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 50
Apple have dual combined USB 2 with their USB 3 on their new machines - one USB port for both. PC manufacturers have opted to offer USB 2 and USB 3 separate or USB 3 only.
  #7  
Old 2012-06-15, 00:00
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by martyn356 View Post
Apple have dual combined USB 2 with their USB 3 on their new machines - one USB port for both. PC manufacturers have opted to offer USB 2 and USB 3 separate or USB 3 only.
USB 3 has been designed to be backwards compatible but it hasn't worked with Balance with 3rd party ports. Intel hopefully implement them to spec :-)
  #8  
Old 2012-08-08, 19:53
Savaticus Savaticus is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Smile

I am having this same issue. Windows 7 64bit. Confirmed that USB 3.0 was the issue.

Last edited by Savaticus; 2012-08-08 at 20:23. Reason: add info
  #9  
Old 2012-08-08, 20:04
Grumbleweed's Avatar
Grumbleweed Grumbleweed is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Savaticus View Post
I am having this same issue. Windows 7 64bit.
The reason for the problem is in this thread and, at present, Balance is USB 2 only on a pc.
I'm in the process of getting a new computer and this USB 2 and USB 3 thing meant I dismissed buying a laptop as all the new ones are USB 3 only.

Grum.
__________________
Soundcloud Soundclick Bandcamp DeadSpace
Reason 7, Sonar X3e Producer, Balance, Chillblast built desktop PC with an i7 3770K (@4.2 Ghz), 8 Gig RAM, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit.

Last edited by Grumbleweed; 2012-08-08 at 20:07.
  #10  
Old 2012-08-10, 18:14
Savaticus Savaticus is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Yeah I am new to these forums, once I saw how it navigates and found those updates I edited my post.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balance audio dropouts/pops mile General Forum (read only) 15 2012-03-03 17:42
Record should install a virtual audio device to allow audio in from ext apps mjtibbz General Forum (read only) 23 2011-11-25 11:08
reason 4 how to select audio output and sample rate? pringles1 General Forum (read only) 4 2008-12-01 23:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:36.