Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-06-16, 21:34
nigelhawkins nigelhawkins is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5
Reason 6.5 = POOR ReMote support for control surfaces

I have a Mackie C4 Pro control surface and every module in Reason 6 maps to the controller perfectly.

I originally moved to Reason due to the program's stability and compatibility with hardware controllers. ReMote was an amazing announcement, not available with any other music software. The promise of plugging in any hardware controller on the supported list and bingo - everything mapped to the controller.

My Mackie C4 worked really well with it.

Unfortunately, it seems that Rack Extensions do not integrate as perfectly into the Reason program as expected. It seems that some RE developers go to the trouble of implementing ReMote and others do not bother.

I am currently trying Buffre, Radical Piano and Pulsar.

Buffre does not map to the controller.
Pulsar does not map to the controller.
Radical Piano maps to the controller, albeith with a very poor mapping to the knobs on the device.

I daren't try out any more REs because there is no guarantee they will map to my controller and I will waste the 30-day trial.

To say I am disappointed is an understatement and I can't see me buying any RE's until it is sorted.

Last edited by nigelhawkins; 2012-06-16 at 21:36.
  #2  
Old 2012-06-16, 23:22
IndiQa's Avatar
IndiQa IndiQa is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 41
Talking

Huh..Pulsar maps to my surface just fine.

Actually Reason (whatever version) has better support for control surfaces
Than X1 or Studio 1. Got both, prefer Reasons implementation.
  #3  
Old 2012-06-16, 23:43
charlycharlzz's Avatar
charlycharlzz charlycharlzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,981
maybe they will put upgraded RE
  #4  
Old 2012-06-16, 23:57
ljekio's Avatar
ljekio ljekio is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 969
Quote:
Huh..Pulsar maps to my surface just fine.
Pulsar maps? Really? How?
But dont say about Remote overrides.
  #5  
Old 2012-06-17, 01:10
nigelhawkins nigelhawkins is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5
IndiQa - what control-surface do you have?
  #6  
Old 2012-06-17, 01:13
nigelhawkins nigelhawkins is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5
and Ijekio - what control-surface do you have?
  #7  
Old 2012-06-17, 01:57
BrrrPeoples's Avatar
BrrrPeoples BrrrPeoples is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,255
Edit: fail on my part, skip this message
  #8  
Old 2012-06-17, 04:01
BeatmakerEI's Avatar
BeatmakerEI BeatmakerEI is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 446
I agree with nigelhawkins about the poor remote support. Here's my dilema: https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=161735
__________________
http://www.upliftedproductions.com
info@upliftedproductions.com
Twitter: @UpliftedPro

New hit single now on iTunes. I co-wrote, co-produced, and mixed it all in Reason 7 - "Shine" (Diamonded Up) by Sonny
https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/sh...ign-mpt=uo%3D4

VEVO:
Video on VEVO and world-wide Video outlets: http://vevo.ly/EcW39o

On Soundcloud:
Loading SoundCloud…
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISSUES: Loading .rsn 2.5 files into Reason 4 abraxis Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2008-04-28 20:00


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:39.