Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-06-18, 14:04
indyv indyv is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 20
Sample browser is slower than ever.

I've been using Reason since version 3, and the sample browser was always kind of a pain. But after installing 6.5 and all the new rack extensions, it's even slower! I can't even go from one sample to another without waiting several minutes just to preview a sample. This is way too detrimental to my workflow.

Is there anything I can do the increase the performance? I'm running a brand new computer. I have way too much ram here... what other specs should I be concerned with when it comes to this?
  #2  
Old 2012-06-18, 15:18
KingEternal's Avatar
KingEternal KingEternal is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,281
your hard drive and maybe the structure of your samples folder. It`S better to divide it into subgroups. BTW, I just checked: If I access the sample folder of the Fairlight Refill, which contains a lot, it`s taking 6 seconds to preload in 6.5, which is much faster than 6.02. I have also noticed speed increases the more you use that folder, i.e. the second time this took only 2 seconds. Which is pretty fast imo considering it houses almost 1000 samples. Again, maybe don`t throw your samples all together.
Anyway, if this is really true that although you got a new machine with lots of ram, it still takes minutes, then there might be something wrong elsewhere.
I got a Western Digital Black Caviar and no problems.
  #3  
Old 2012-06-18, 22:40
yokayo9121's Avatar
yokayo9121 yokayo9121 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 241
I have also noticed that everything seems, just that bit snappier,certainly browsing seems sharper,and loading and saving songs appears to be faster..just a quickie,if anyone can advise..I bought an SSD a a coupl of weeks back,haven't fitted it yet,but on the strength of previous advice I'll be sticking the OS on that,which means I'll have a spare hard drive,(I only use my PC for Reason,an when I had it built around 12 months ago had 2 hard drives fitted),with the OS on 1,and Reason on the other,so, Refills on the spare?...cheers.
  #4  
Old 2013-04-03, 12:11
devilfish's Avatar
devilfish devilfish is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,067
unfortunately this is still the case.

the browser is much too slow°!!!

WTF !!
  #5  
Old 2013-04-03, 14:23
bananaranha bananaranha is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 130
As a developer, I can tell you that if it takes that long in any recently-ish hardware (less than 5 years old), it's all about the software, not because the machine is "slow" or because you "need an SSD".

If Reason needs to read a lot of metadata from each sample/preset file, then the Props should cache those (they almost never change anyway), and add indexes for quicker search / retrieval. It's not rocket science.

Probably they just used the lazy way out, and used the basic OS file operations, scanning each file individually, etc, but that, while it could have been "good enough" back in the day, it's not really good today where we have with tons of presets and samples.

I'm sure they know it, and will overhaul the browser at some point (7.5? 8?).

Another lazy cop-out pain point is the bitmap, non resizable, UI. Good enough when we had 72 dpi monitors back in 2001, not good anymore in the hi-dpi era -- it makes everything tiny. With a Retina it should even be totally unusable.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the sample search browser capped at 2000? MarineBoy Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2011-09-27 19:36
can i listen to sample browser through headphones for live ? Roobix General Forum (read only) 3 2009-04-10 20:05
Having A Problem Previewing Samples In The Browser Window jneiblum Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2005-04-02 19:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:41.