Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-06-29, 01:16
Epithet Epithet is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 137
Please update Scream4's fx's.

I'm sure you guys are able to put some higher quality algorithms in the Scream4 module to get a more realistic sound. The Tape and Tube algorithms are tired and lower quality than the rest of the modules you have been putting out. Especially now with RE. Let's not forget about the current modules as analog emulation evolves and advances.
  #2  
Old 2012-06-29, 04:49
sl4TM's Avatar
sl4TM sl4TM is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 172
The tape and tube algorithms are great. I use Scream4's tape saturation in nearly every song I write.
__________________
Esselfortium - Freelance composer and graphic designer
Seventeen More Times (2011) - Listen online!

Latest song post: Valley of Echoes, written solely with Reason 1.0 features and sounds
  #3  
Old 2012-06-29, 14:06
BetraX's Avatar
BetraX BetraX is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epithet View Post
The Tape and Tube algorithms are tired.
Tried, tested and true would be a more apt statement.

The tape is a frikken monster! As well as being capable of very ugly compression (yes, some of us like/love/need/want that sound occasionally). This has to be my most used distortion mode on basses, it brings the warmth. it's also great for rounding off sounds in a very aggressive way.

Tube... Okay, not my favourite by a long shot. It does sound thick, but not tube driven thick. However, with some careful EQ'ing you can make it sing like a shredding unit.

Most (if not all) of the Reason devices have that UNIX like philosophy. Make the tool do one thing well rather than make a tool that does most things in a moderately acceptable fashion.

I always chain things, you get a feel for a sound then sculpt it by adding more devices and there are so many options!

Ahhh, so the point I'm trying to make is this. Never rely on one single device to get the sound you want. If it does work out of the box great! If it does not don't write it off, experiment instead.

Last edited by BetraX; 2012-06-29 at 15:15. Reason: added a point to the garbled mess.
  #4  
Old 2012-06-29, 15:03
alessandrocavagni's Avatar
alessandrocavagni alessandrocavagni is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelmoose View Post

Most (if not all) of the Reason devices have that UNIX like philosophy. Make the tool do one thing well rather than make a tool that does most things in a moderately acceptable fashion.
I'm touched to read this sentence here... I use UNIX every day and I keep
a copy of "The UNIX philosophy" on my bookcase.

I agree with you: indeed there are many affinity between these two worlds...

Cheers,
Alessandro Cavagni
  #5  
Old 2012-06-29, 17:44
rlubeck's Avatar
rlubeck rlubeck is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 782
Changing the device would destroy previous work that has been done with it. I wouldn't dare touch it if I were a dev. That said, nothing wrong with having another audiodestroyer like Scream4 as an RE, which I'm sure is always a possibility.
  #6  
Old 2012-06-29, 18:36
jlgrimes jlgrimes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epithet View Post
I'm sure you guys are able to put some higher quality algorithms in the Scream4 module to get a more realistic sound. The Tape and Tube algorithms are tired and lower quality than the rest of the modules you have been putting out. Especially now with RE. Let's not forget about the current modules as analog emulation evolves and advances.

It sounds like you want more subtle distortion effects.

Pulverizer and the free Saturation REs are great units for more subtle distortion. Im not sure if they are doing a tube or tape style distortion but they do sound good and should give you some more variety.


Scream 4 probably shouldn't be changed but one thing that might be nice is if they made an oversampling switch on it which usually gives a higher quality distortion effect.
  #7  
Old 2012-06-29, 23:03
labyrus labyrus is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 238
The props have generally avoided putting out updates to older devices to preserve backwards compatibility, basically, a song you made 4 years ago on an old version should and does sound exactly the same in a current version.

Changing the algorithms in Scream would obviously break this. Adding new ones might not, but it's more likely you'll see new distortion in new devices (indeed, that's what we got in Pulverizer).

FWIW I still use tape all the time and love it. Tube, I'm not crazy about but it has it's place.
  #8  
Old 2012-06-30, 05:51
charlycharlzz's Avatar
charlycharlzz charlycharlzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,950
I like it like that ! but I would not mind if they put a 2nd one in reason 7 like a scream 5 yhea !!!!!!!
__________________

It's like gambling !!!
but you get something out the slot everytime you click ! lol

▓▓▓
dಠಠb
_(Θ)_

No Respect for the Talion Law , I whant it All !
  #9  
Old 2012-06-30, 16:02
rogerlevy rogerlevy is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by labyrus View Post
The props have generally avoided putting out updates to older devices to preserve backwards compatibility, basically, a song you made 4 years ago on an old version should and does sound exactly the same in a current version.

Changing the algorithms in Scream would obviously break this. Adding new ones might not, but it's more likely you'll see new distortion in new devices (indeed, that's what we got in Pulverizer).

FWIW I still use tape all the time and love it. Tube, I'm not crazy about but it has it's place.
OK, this is why you have compatibility switches. Basically, if a device is updated, the default state is "New Algo", and also when you Reset it. This setting gets saved with patches. But you can also turn it off. And when you load old patches, that setting defaults to off. There's no danger of breaking old songs, it's simple programming.
  #10  
Old 2012-07-01, 17:21
zeroohm zeroohm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epithet View Post
I'm sure you guys are able to put some higher quality algorithms in the Scream4 module to get a more realistic sound. The Tape and Tube algorithms are tired and lower quality than the rest of the modules you have been putting out. Especially now with RE. Let's not forget about the current modules as analog emulation evolves and advances.
have you tried puting 2 scream 4's in a chain . . . guess not
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Missing Pieces Refills] Update + New songs + Winter sale + Idea behind MP Refills. NaviRetlav Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2011-12-25 20:39
what's the deal If you buy the R5 update now? jazztronauts Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2011-07-13 02:19
Record 1 and Reason 4 and no (free) update to Record 1.5 nokr General Forum (read only) 2 2010-10-28 17:08
Update auf Record 1.5 Crezo Phead User Forum (read only) 11 2010-09-05 15:22
Free Record 1.5 update is NOT FREE to all users phobic Phead User Forum (read only) 35 2010-08-29 21:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:44.