Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-06-29, 20:44
Aiden's Avatar
Aiden Aiden is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 159
Balance audio quality?

Hi, anyone with Balance care to comment on the audio quality?

I've got a FW410 which is dying so I'm going to buy a new interface quite soon. I've been looking at Balance as I use Reason exclusively but also considering the Saffire Pro 24 DSP as I like the idea of the VRM and RME Babyface which will mean I have to sell my Grandma but In understand the DAC's and ADC's are top notch.

I'm producing Dance music so the bottom end is important but I'm also recording guitar and vocals so bottom end isn't the whole story. I monitor on a pair of Event ALP5's and have DT770 Pro's (which are simply wonderful) for headphone work. I have a tiny crappy untreated corner of a room which I don't think actually sounds that bad considering, but I'm not sure if the extra audio quality of the Babyface will really make itself felt within the space.

Any comments including any other recommendations greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Aiden
  #2  
Old 2012-06-30, 00:19
drdk drdk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 278
Hi,
I have had balance since it came out. I am really pleased with the clear sound and ease of setup.
I do not have any specs to compare but I do not have any complaints about balance

DK
  #3  
Old 2012-06-30, 01:03
Aiden's Avatar
Aiden Aiden is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 159
Cheers DK Nice one

Aiden
  #4  
Old 2012-06-30, 02:45
MayorMcCheese MayorMcCheese is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 770
You can do your own spec comparison to anything else: https://www.propellerheads.se/products/balance/index.cfm?fuseaction=get_article&article=measureme nts . I’ve had Balance in my home studio for over six months and it’s absolutely beautiful. Everything about it.

One thing about Balance that you can’t compare to anything else is the Clip Safe function: https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...ne#post1084237 . Only Balance has it. And it’s absolutely beautiful. Everything about it.
__________________
waldenroadmusic.bandcamp.com
  #5  
Old 2012-06-30, 03:16
Manslick Manslick is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 450
Thumbs up

It takes time.

When I got a pair of TLM 103 mic, it took a while for the ears to adjust to the fine detail these mics deliver.

I was using an MAudio fast track pro.

I have been using balance for a few weeks and I find I am experencing the same kind of adjustment.

Its like going to kodachrome except it's more subtle.

I am also recording at 96Khz so that is also new to me.

I say balance is thumb up.
  #6  
Old 2012-06-30, 09:56
Soundcells's Avatar
Soundcells Soundcells is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 423
Thumbs up - a great interface with great sound quality, a wonderful handling and superb product design. For me it' s pure fun to use Balance...love the two big knobs :0))
  #7  
Old 2012-06-30, 12:09
vernon22 vernon22 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 788
The additional feature for clip safe was really thought out. Whenever you engage it, if the audio clips you have an identical copy of your recording with gain reduction in that area. This is great when you are just using the balance alone without any additional pre-amps. I would recommend to ensure proper gain adjustment 1st, to avoid the need for it, but if you do... you never have a bad take. The quality is superb, as everyone has stated. I am comparing to also owning Steinberg, M-audio, Avid, Motu, Mackie, & Focusrite products. This one is outstanding sound. The only thing sometimes, is you may have to reboot your Balance if your USB goes to sleep.
  #8  
Old 2012-06-30, 12:43
Aiden's Avatar
Aiden Aiden is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 159
Thanks for the comments everyone, much appreciated. I'm almost sold. Would be really interested to hear from anyone on here who has an RME Babyface though and I just wish there was some way for me to get a cheaper Balance without the addition of Reason Essentials as I obviously already have Reason.
  #9  
Old 2012-06-30, 13:10
Grumbleweed's Avatar
Grumbleweed Grumbleweed is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aiden View Post
Thanks for the comments everyone, much appreciated. I'm almost sold. Would be really interested to hear from anyone on here who has an RME Babyface though and I just wish there was some way for me to get a cheaper Balance without the addition of Reason Essentials as I obviously already have Reason.
Essentials is free and you can sell it.

Grum.
__________________
Soundcloud Soundclick Bandcamp DeadSpace
Reason 7, Sonar X3e Producer, Balance, Chillblast built desktop PC with an i7 3770K (@4.2 Ghz), 8 Gig RAM, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit.
  #10  
Old 2012-07-01, 14:53
Aiden's Avatar
Aiden Aiden is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 159
yeah but I'd have to give the buyer my dongle for the license and then I'd be stuck when I come to replace Balance in the future (I think).
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balance not sending audio to reason 6 lucasfinney Phead User Forum (read only) 5 2012-05-17 02:50
Balance audio dropouts/pops mile General Forum (read only) 15 2012-03-03 17:42
balance audio interface jodell2020 Phead User Forum (read only) 5 2011-10-10 19:06
Macintosh: Solutions for noise in the audio signal dskyzer Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2005-10-20 11:08
The audio quality of the ozonic danny_f General Forum (read only) 0 2005-02-06 17:17


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:05.