Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-07-19, 09:59
BoddAH's Avatar
BoddAH BoddAH is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 312
Cool Reason on MacBook Pro with Retina display

So I just got myself a new MBPr from Apple and not surprisingly Reason, like any program not specifically programmed/patched for use with the new Retina display, looks like crap. No offense of course. This is perfectly normal and something similar happened already with iPad/iPad apps before they were patched to use the Retina display on those devices.

I know you can just turn everything into 2880x1800 to regain the 1:1 pixel accuracy and get ALOT of real estate which is especially useful for the mixer, but unless you happen to be a fish eagle this isn't very practical on a 15" screen.

So are there any plans to patch/adapt Reason 6.5 to make use of the Retina display on the new MBPr ?
  #2  
Old 2012-07-19, 10:04
JiggeryPokery's Avatar
JiggeryPokery JiggeryPokery is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 5,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoddAH View Post

So are there any plans to patch/adapt Reason 6.5 to make use of the Retina display on the new MBPr ?
Props will never announce plans like that until they launch a beta. But given that requirements for high resolution assets for RE developers, I'd wager Reason 7 will support this.
__________________
www.jiggery-pokery.com
Vintage Keyboard & Guitar ReFills for Reason
  #3  
Old 2012-07-19, 12:23
normen's Avatar
normen normen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,469
I guess it will look crap for some longer. The props kinda maneuvered themselves into a corner with the bitmap based UI. Its not so easy to scale that up, you basically need to replace _all_ images. Afaik RE's now use vector graphics which handle scaling more graceful (at least for the placing).
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer
  #4  
Old 2012-07-19, 13:04
dioxide's Avatar
dioxide dioxide is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,290
https://www.propellerheads.se/compan...PlanCmtID=2002
  #5  
Old 2012-07-19, 13:08
normen's Avatar
normen normen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioxide View Post
This "problem" is only when you run the monitor in double-dpi mode which you only do if you have hawks eyes and need a huge desktop space. Normally the UI size is like it always was, it just looks "blurry" as its using only half of the pixels in each direction.
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popular Plugins as Combinator Patches NoelGMusic Phead User Forum (read only) 216 2013-09-25 02:12
Installing Reason 4 on Macbook Air dsoazus General Forum (read only) 11 2011-02-01 17:34
Please help, trying to install reason on macbook! defianc2e Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2009-02-24 22:03
MIDI Implementation Charts andrthad Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2008-12-08 17:42
Reason / DP / OMS Test Results Within... arothman General Forum (read only) 2 2003-03-05 03:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:20.