Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-08-10, 19:34
bigant's Avatar
bigant bigant is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,427
Redrum needs a link button for patterns

It would be nice if i could program all my drums for a song in the redrum seq by using all 64 steps in pattern 1,then if redrum had a link button it would jump right to pattern 2 giving me 64 more steps,then move to pattern 3 and so on. Or is there a way now that I'm missing?
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #2  
Old 2012-08-10, 23:18
illCarl's Avatar
illCarl illCarl is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 691
Well.. It's not really much different then putting bank A1, A2, A3.. etc in the sequencer Or am I missing something
  #3  
Old 2012-08-11, 10:17
bigant's Avatar
bigant bigant is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,427
Your not following me my point is i wish i didn't have to click my mouse to select banks or patterns in redrum,in most drum modules you can put your patterns on notes or pad. In ultrabeat you can play 24 patterns on your keyboard that are assigned to the keys. BPM gives your over 100 steps just saying.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #4  
Old 2012-08-11, 13:42
jlgrimes jlgrimes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigant View Post
Your not following me my point is i wish i didn't have to click my mouse to select banks or patterns in redrum,in most drum modules you can put your patterns on notes or pad. In ultrabeat you can play 24 patterns on your keyboard that are assigned to the keys. BPM gives your over 100 steps just saying.
I wished they made blocks triggerable this way. Newer Mpcs had this feature as well.
  #5  
Old 2012-08-12, 05:13
bigant's Avatar
bigant bigant is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlgrimes View Post
I wished they made blocks triggerable this way. Newer Mpcs had this feature as well.
I didn't know that.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #6  
Old 2012-08-12, 09:28
scifunk's Avatar
scifunk scifunk is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 922
You can automate the pattern selection in the sequencer window to play your patterns in any order you wish,
__________________
Scientific Funk & Cactus Jack - deep house, tech-house and techno
  #7  
Old 2012-08-12, 20:46
jlgrimes jlgrimes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by scifunk View Post
You can automate the pattern selection in the sequencer window to play your patterns in any order you wish,
I think he is wanting something more live. (although I think red rum patterns might be midi mappable).
  #8  
Old 2012-08-12, 23:11
bigant's Avatar
bigant bigant is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,427
A simple link or toggle switch like logic has to chain patterns one by one would do the trick or give us at
least 128 steps.

"You can automate the pattern selection in the sequencer window to play your patterns in any order you wish",

Don't you have to be recording for this to work,which would bring timing issues,i would have to press
the pattern button just right wouldn't I? No thanks!
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #9  
Old 2012-08-12, 23:35
scifunk's Avatar
scifunk scifunk is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 922
No, the sequencer acts as the trigger, so you'd have a pattern note lane for the redrum with all you patterns in the seq your require (chained together). Press start and the patterns are triggered automatically in your chosen sequence ie A1, A2, B3, D6.... til the end of the track

Page 260 in the manual
__________________
Scientific Funk & Cactus Jack - deep house, tech-house and techno

Last edited by scifunk; 2012-08-12 at 23:38.
  #10  
Old 2012-08-12, 23:54
bigant's Avatar
bigant bigant is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,427
@scifunk

Dude thats not automating anything lol,what i said was,you need to research what automation is bro,what you're talking about is basic sequencing. Again if the redrum had a toggle switch it would be much faster then what you're suggesting.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Mapping the play button in Redrum. Help!!! NMZZ General Forum (read only) 3 2006-07-23 23:35
Dial A for aggravated (Redrum Help) Lividrylox General Forum (read only) 2 2003-05-21 04:45
Redrum MIDI Mapping dypc32 General Forum (read only) 1 2003-05-14 03:47
does anyone have this REDRUM link? jayr0444 General Forum (read only) 1 2002-07-26 09:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:18.