Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2012-08-13, 21:12
scifunk's Avatar
scifunk scifunk is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 927
I think you need to read the manual son - that is how you chain patterns together, as you requested:

Pattern A1 can have 64 steps, as can all the patterns in Redrum. You want 128 steps then split it between A1 and A2, then chain them in a pattern lane in the seq window.
__________________
Scientific Funk & Cactus Jack - deep house, tech-house and techno

Last edited by scifunk; 2012-08-13 at 21:19.
  #12  
Old 2012-08-13, 21:23
binaryeye binaryeye is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by scifunk View Post
Pattern A1 can have 64 steps, as can all the patterns in Redrum. You want 128 steps then split it between A1 and A2, then chain them in a pattern lane in the seq window.
He's looking for a way to do that without the sequencer. For example: Without pressing play, you select A1 on the Redrum, then press Run. When A1 finishes, Redrum jumps to A2 instead of looping back to the beginning of A1.

I have a feeling there's a way to do this in a Combinator with a Matrix or Thor's step sequencer automating the Redrum's pattern selector.
  #13  
Old 2012-08-13, 22:06
Lunesis's Avatar
Lunesis Lunesis is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by binaryeye View Post
He's looking for a way to do that without the sequencer. For example: Without pressing play, you select A1 on the Redrum, then press Run. When A1 finishes, Redrum jumps to A2 instead of looping back to the beginning of A1.

I have a feeling there's a way to do this in a Combinator with a Matrix or Thor's step sequencer automating the Redrum's pattern selector.
I have Reason 6.5 but I want to use line mixers and Mclass devices to emulate the SSL because the SSL takes up too much space at the top.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #14  
Old 2012-08-13, 22:10
scifunk's Avatar
scifunk scifunk is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 927
What's the difference between pressing run on the redrum and play in the sequencer - the answer is, one does what he wants and the other doesn't. Technically they have no performance issue that I can see. They are both just 'play' buttons.
__________________
Scientific Funk & Cactus Jack - deep house, tech-house and techno
  #15  
Old 2012-08-13, 23:29
binaryeye binaryeye is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by scifunk View Post
They are both just 'play' buttons.
Whatever they are considered to be is irrelevant because the functions invoked are fundamentally different. Pressing play initiates a pre-determined sequence, which can be looped if desired. Pressing run initiates a loop of the currently selected pattern.

Pressing the play button can do this:
ABABCCDDABCC

Pressing the run button and making changes on the fly can do this:
ABABCCDDABCC
or
ABCCABCCDDDDCC
or
CCABCCABDDABCC
or
etc.

What the OP wants is the ability to make B always come after A without having to manually make the change. Obviously, for recorded music, the sequencer is fine for this. But for live improvisation, it would be helpful if patterns could be linked.
  #16  
Old 2012-08-14, 10:37
bigant's Avatar
bigant bigant is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by binaryeye View Post
Whatever they are considered to be is irrelevant because the functions invoked are fundamentally different. Pressing play initiates a pre-determined sequence, which can be looped if desired. Pressing run initiates a loop of the currently selected pattern.

Pressing the play button can do this:
ABABCCDDABCC

Pressing the run button and making changes on the fly can do this:
ABABCCDDABCC
or
ABCCABCCDDDDCC
or
CCABCCABDDABCC
or
etc.

What the OP wants is the ability to make B always come after A without having to manually make the change. Obviously, for recorded music, the sequencer is fine for this. But for live improvisation, it would be helpful if patterns could be linked.
Glad someone took time to explain it to him.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #17  
Old 2012-08-15, 07:54
scifunk's Avatar
scifunk scifunk is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 927
Well, that's not what you said originally. You wanted a fixed chain of patterns - no mention of live changes.
__________________
Scientific Funk & Cactus Jack - deep house, tech-house and techno
  #18  
Old 2012-08-15, 09:27
tomduff tomduff is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 71
What you are asking is to sequence the pattern changes when using Run rather than Play. This is already possible by adding a matrix and combinator (as alluded to earlier), although admittedly little clunky.

For example (one option):
Wire Matrix Note CV -> Combinator CV1
Program Combinator CV 1 -> Redrum Pattern
Notes in the matrix can now be sequenced to change pattern and obviously running at the matrix at 1/2 gives you a fair number of steps to play with. (You will need to play with the CV1 input level and/or the pattern send Min & Max along with which notes you fire off in the matrix to get the patterns you desire)
You can now use the Run Pattern Devices button on the combinator to kick it all off.

It is then possible to extend this further to allow you to change between matrix patterns in order to alter the sequences being run and hence drive different chains of redrum patterns.

A more 'live' based pattern sequencer would be great as an RE to aid with this sort of thing though.

Last edited by tomduff; 2012-08-15 at 09:29.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Mapping the play button in Redrum. Help!!! NMZZ General Forum (read only) 3 2006-07-23 23:35
Dial A for aggravated (Redrum Help) Lividrylox General Forum (read only) 2 2003-05-21 04:45
Redrum MIDI Mapping dypc32 General Forum (read only) 1 2003-05-14 03:47
does anyone have this REDRUM link? jayr0444 General Forum (read only) 1 2002-07-26 09:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:55.