Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-08-19, 23:01
Egungon Egungon is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Can't get vocoder or voice synth to work.

I've been trying to get vocoder and voice synth to work for a while. I've followed many tutorials, but none of them work for me. I just cant hear anything, I record, and nothing. I'm so confused. I'm making an electronic song, and want an electronic sounding voice effect to use, but I don't know what to do.
  #2  
Old 2012-08-19, 23:13
platzangst's Avatar
platzangst platzangst is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,352
Well, first describe what you are doing. How are you hooking up the Vocoder?
__________________
Hey go listen to my new album it's almost like music.
Loading SoundCloud…

  #3  
Old 2012-08-19, 23:14
Whagi Whagi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 100
Took me a while to get my head around it, but once you do, its quite simple. You just have to learn the back routing. There are YouTube videos showing how its done though.
__________________
Latest Music >>
Latest Photos >>
  #4  
Old 2012-08-19, 23:14
Oper8's Avatar
Oper8 Oper8 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 186
No tutorial worked ? That's quite weird... Are you sure you double checked every routing ? Haven't you missed something ?
  #5  
Old 2012-08-19, 23:18
Egungon Egungon is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
You'd think that if you insert a one of the default vocoders or voice synths, it would instantly work. But, apparently now. So, I tried watching videos and figuring things out for myself. But, nothing works.
  #6  
Old 2012-08-19, 23:20
Whagi Whagi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 100
Check this out. Lots of cool info here CLICK ME >>
__________________
Latest Music >>
Latest Photos >>
  #7  
Old 2012-08-19, 23:23
Oper8's Avatar
Oper8 Oper8 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 186
If you watch a tutorial video, make sure you pause after each step and do exactly the same settings as what the guy explains. Can't see why it wouldn't work on your computer, that's just plain weird... Did you double check each setting ?
  #8  
Old 2012-08-20, 03:11
platzangst's Avatar
platzangst platzangst is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egungon View Post
You'd think that if you insert a one of the default vocoders or voice synths, it would instantly work. But, apparently now.
#1: "Just inserting" a vocoder isn't going to "work", in that you can't just create the thing on a vocal track all by itself and have a robot voice come bubbling out of it automatically. A vocoder needs two sound sources: a modulator and a carrier.

The Carrier is the base sound. If you want a robot voice, you need an electronic sound, like from a synthesizer.

The Modulator shapes the sound. This would be your vocal or speech track. It gets fed into the vocoder, and shapes the Carrier sound, like your mouth and throat shapes the basic sound your vocal chords produce.

Both sounds have to be active before you will hear anything out of the Vocoder. If the Carrier (synth) is silent, there will be nothing for the other sound to shape. If the Modulator (voice) is silent, then the other sound is shaped into an imitation of that silence.

#2: This is why you ought to be able to describe in detail what you are doing when you come up with a complaint like this. People use the Vocoder all the time and make it work. But nobody can read your mind to know what you might have hooked up incorrectly. "Nothing works" doesn't point us in the right direction.
__________________
Hey go listen to my new album it's almost like music.
Loading SoundCloud…

  #9  
Old 2012-08-20, 15:08
sendittorell's Avatar
sendittorell sendittorell is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
My Vocoder not working Either

As easy as it may seem and it is easy, my vocoder worked before, but once I upgraded from Reason 5 Record over to Reason 6.0 it has not been working. I now have Reason 6.5.1 and have tried everything. Even tried re-installing the entire Reason software on my Mac.

I've tried all the tutorials from Reason 5 Power and numerous tutorials and forums and still nothing. I've tried this guy right here who was pretty helpful because atleast I got a signal from following his instructions --> http://www.youtube.com/watch?annotat...&v=D3ZI5OXS-Mk

But still nothing. All of my connections are correct and settings are identical. The guy in the tutorial gets an amazing vocoded signal on his vox and I get the raw signal of what I recorded, even with the exact same settings. So its not far fetched. It could definitely be something wrong like a bug or something. Not sure but its pretty frustrating. I put in a trouble ticket so we shall see what the guys at Propellerhead suggests.

Rell
__________________
v/R
@rellbeatboy
912.596.2506
rellrellproductions@gmail.com
  #10  
Old 2012-08-20, 15:37
Oper8's Avatar
Oper8 Oper8 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 186
I just did the same thing on Reason 6.5.1, following the steps described in the video, and it works perfectly. Are you sure you created the vocoder device as an insert effect to the vocal track, then created the Malström (with Shift+right click) outside the vocal track ?
Edit- Wait, you say you're getting the raw signal ? How did you set your vocoder's "Dry/Wet" knob ? Since it's an insert effect in your audio track, it acts like any other effect, so if you only want the processed signal, you have to turn it all the way up to "Wet" position.

Last edited by Oper8; 2012-08-20 at 16:00.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forum Song Challenges - Challenge V: Synth Nation - The Launch FailedMuso Phead User Forum (read only) 310 2012-05-11 09:17
Reason's pop culture references... Matti General Forum (read only) 27 2010-11-08 07:02
Tested vocoder examples did not work kestersimm Phead User Forum (read only) 4 2009-09-24 23:04
Tweaking Others Routings And Native Synth Patches And Releasing As Your Work. DigitalBlood Phead User Forum (read only) 5 2008-08-21 02:43
Whole Album for FREE from Benedict Benedict Music Forum (read only) 22 2004-04-08 03:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:46.