Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-08-24, 05:28
sirwannabe's Avatar
sirwannabe sirwannabe is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
unfixable reason latency (yes I have ASIO!)

Hey all, I'm new so bear with me...

I had Reason running perfectly last week, but yesterday I got some new drivers from Dell and it screwed everything up. now there's huge latency and nothing I do will fix the problem. I tried reverting back to old sound drivers, I've messed with the buffering all day long, Im running ASIO drivers, I just have no clue why there is a delay after I hit a key. it has nothing to do with my computers ability to handle the sound, because no matter how large a sound sample I choose, its still the exact amount of delay as last time. I even just invested in driver detective to make sure everything is up to date and it is. It's still not working! I dont know much about sound config, but I know enough to have been able to know what to search for and how to closely follow every step in the forums about solving the latency issue. Im just sick of hearing "make sure your ASIO driver is selected". Any advice will be greatly appreciated I'm dying over being completely stuck with no way to record!

Thanks in advance!
  #2  
Old 2012-08-24, 06:17
SteveDiverse's Avatar
SteveDiverse SteveDiverse is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,615
System Restore to revert back to before the new dell drivers were installed.

(Press F1 slowly and repeatedly while computer is booting up to access system restore)

-OR-

try uninstalling and re-installing everything reason/asio related to see if that does anything.

To comment on another post in the feature suggestion area - this is exactly why I do not like the incremental update approach.

It's totally possible that the dell update overlaid or changed something in a way that causes previously installed software (i.e. reason) to break.

if so, the un- and re- install of reason should fix the issue.

also contact dell "support" and tell them their last update trashed your computer.
__________________

HP Pavillion DV7T-3300 Laptop | i7 Q720 @ 1.6 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win7 Pro 64-bit
m-audio Axiom Pro 61 keyboard controller || iPad2 | RetouchControl DUO | TouchOSC | LoopBe30 MIDI
m-audio Mobile Pre USB (original) audio interface | ASIO4ALL || RØDE NT-3 mic
Reason 6.5.3 || Pulsar | Saturation Knob | Rough Rider | TSAR-1 | Uhbik-A | Re-Tron | Polar | Echobode | Uhbik Q | Uhbik F | Morfin XF | Uhbik S | Uhbik D | Uhbik G | CV Suite Line Processor | wbl5515 | Uhbik P | RE-2A | Radical Piano

Last edited by SteveDiverse; 2012-08-24 at 06:20.
  #3  
Old 2012-08-24, 11:53
xDJDroidx's Avatar
xDJDroidx xDJDroidx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 137
Might help if you tell people what OS, version of reason and what Soundcard you are using.

Just because you have ASIO doesn't mean you'll get low latency, especially with MB (built in) soundcards.
  #4  
Old 2012-08-24, 12:49
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Dell sounds drivers shouldn't have any effect on your audio interface unless you are using ASIO4ALL and the internal sound card. Unfortunately you haven't provided this information so it's not easy to help.
  #5  
Old 2012-08-24, 14:50
cpetersus's Avatar
cpetersus cpetersus is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 167
What is your pc specs, os and what interface do you have? It sounds to me like your buffer size just got changed. My apologies if this offends you but you did say you were new...did you open the asio control panel for your interface and drop the buffer size down? The lowest setting that your pc supports will offer the best latency results. My pc is a little older so I eirher change my buffer size down to min or use direct monitoring on my interface when I record. Once I ave my basic tracks laid then I jack the buffer to max when I'm adding effects, mixing, etc. not shure if it's the "right" way but it's my workflow.
__________________
Chris Peters
Richmond, VA, USA

Reason 7 - Studio One Pro V2.5
Optiplex780 8G Win7 & Dell Latitude E6410 4G Win7 64 bit
Presonus AudioBox1818 - Focusrite VRM - Fender SuperChamp X2
MAudio Oxygen61 - Akai MPD26 - iPad2
  #6  
Old 2012-08-24, 17:17
charlycharlzz's Avatar
charlycharlzz charlycharlzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,963
you have asio ok that's cool but sometimes you need asio4all and it is free , I have a friend that run a big power pc and he could not find the source of his latency , he change a lot of asio setings but nothing much changed so I told him to get asio4all he did not lissen at all first and the day he wanted to blow up his pc he tryed asio4all since it is free and he was very happy to see that it fixed everything ! but it is not always the problem sometimes it is just some regular asio problems!
__________________

It's like gambling !!!
but you get something out the slot everytime you click ! lol

▓▓▓
dಠಠb
_(Θ)_

No Respect for the Talion Law , I whant it All !
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A method to use VST plugins in reason SpaceToad Phead User Forum (read only) 48 2013-03-11 14:54
PROBLEMS SYNCING CUBASE SL AND REASON VIA REWIRE!? Muzak Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2008-08-12 20:26
Cubase Reason .wav File Export Latency Help goldenhorn Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2007-02-23 21:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:11.