Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 2012-06-01, 00:05
plaamook's Avatar
plaamook plaamook is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkDuBois View Post
I don't use any of them. I'm running a bodaceous Dell XPS notebook with Win 7, 16Gb ram , a cored out CPU, a phat zero-latency SSD, and a nice big HD 17" display. This thing will give any Mac a run for the dough. The days of needing a Mac for digital audio and music production are long gone. Besides, Macs are stupid expensive.
mac track pad is a game changer though. haven't used a mouse for two years. money well spent imo
  #22  
Old 2012-06-01, 00:11
plaamook's Avatar
plaamook plaamook is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by madmacman View Post
But after a few days I realized that this method has no advantages over the built-in possibility of Reason to maximize each part (rack, mixer, sequencer) with F5-F7 keys.
true, but you don't get much more on a 15' in this respect anyway. obviously you get to see more on a 15'. but then the bigger the screen, the more you see. nothing beats the inverted screen for rack and horizontal for the seq. which i don't have yet.

but talking about laptops? again, if you can work on a 13' some of the time, if you can get along with it, and if you travel a lot, well... whatever. i'm happy w a 13'. do what makes you happy.
  #23  
Old 2012-06-12, 01:31
sofakingcool sofakingcool is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
http://www.engadget.com/2012/06/11/n...whats-changed/

The new Mac 15 are out! I can only say, damn the screen size is crazy.
  #24  
Old 2012-06-12, 17:23
charlycharlzz's Avatar
charlycharlzz charlycharlzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,948
get the 15 inchz and get a 23 inch hd monitor for 200box you will save 300 and be happy when you go on a trip for the gain of space!
  #25  
Old 2012-08-31, 13:59
ayello's Avatar
ayello ayello is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,297
I use a 15 ' plus an additional screen when i'm at home and it's ok.
Best
Michel
  #26  
Old 2012-08-31, 14:32
wizardry's Avatar
wizardry wizardry is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 279
would this be a good mac to run reason6 and the ne RE'S

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc..._Notebook.html
  #27  
Old 2012-08-31, 15:13
Kovkov's Avatar
Kovkov Kovkov is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 882
I'm using a 13' because it has to fit into my backpack.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #28  
Old 2012-08-31, 17:17
Stereoimagery's Avatar
Stereoimagery Stereoimagery is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 279
I use the late 2011 dual i7 13" macbook pro model.

updgraded the RAM to 6gig and performance is fine.

Screen size is alright, i do run dual monitors however in osx lion you can just create more desktops and swipe between screens (sequencer on one desktop, mixer on another etc)

I bought the 13" model for more of a hybrid studio & DJ performance laptop.

I'm happy with it.
__________________
twitter: @_drstrangelove

Loading SoundCloud…
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
People...People...People Please get a grip on Technology XtrChess General Forum (read only) 27 2012-09-08 13:09
Why do people dislike Rewire so much? ChrisIhao General Forum (read only) 33 2009-10-26 15:02
Which Laptop?? Darkhour General Forum (read only) 9 2009-08-24 03:22
Quest for a laptop! Fignuts General Forum (read only) 3 2006-05-23 23:27
Reason 3 won't install on my laptop any more :( sblade Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2005-11-23 16:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:34.