Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-09-16, 10:43
Sandstorm2012 Sandstorm2012 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
How to change key

O.k this is probably a stupid, obvious question but I need to know how to change the key to a song I've laid down. I've decided that it needs to be down a semi-tone. So how do I go about changing everything in one go? Thanks guys.
  #2  
Old 2012-09-16, 10:52
rlubeck's Avatar
rlubeck rlubeck is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 782
Select the parts you need transposed, hit F8, click Sequencer Tools tab, Transpose -1
__________________
i7 2600 based system, E-MU 1820M, Mackie HR824's, Sennheiser HD600, SM Pro Audio iNano, Akai MPK49, Korg EA-1, Behringer BCR2000.
Rack Extensions: Predator RE, Softube FET Compressor, Softube Trident A-Range, Fxpansion Etch Red, Uhbik-A, Ozone Maximizer, Pulsar, Softube Sat.
  #3  
Old 2012-09-16, 10:59
Sandstorm2012 Sandstorm2012 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlubeck View Post
Select the parts you need transposed, hit F8, click Sequencer Tools tab, Transpose -1
I'm sorry but what do you mean by select? I clicked om one of the instruments in the step sequencer, but when I hit f8 and applied -1 the apply button is greyed out.
  #4  
Old 2012-09-16, 11:03
rlubeck's Avatar
rlubeck rlubeck is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 782
The Clips in the sequencer you've laid down, lasso-select those (click-drag).
__________________
i7 2600 based system, E-MU 1820M, Mackie HR824's, Sennheiser HD600, SM Pro Audio iNano, Akai MPK49, Korg EA-1, Behringer BCR2000.
Rack Extensions: Predator RE, Softube FET Compressor, Softube Trident A-Range, Fxpansion Etch Red, Uhbik-A, Ozone Maximizer, Pulsar, Softube Sat.
  #5  
Old 2012-09-16, 11:18
Sandstorm2012 Sandstorm2012 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlubeck View Post
The Clips in the sequencer you've laid down, lasso-select those (click-drag).
Oh crap. I'm in song mode and it's selected. But now what do I do with it? In edit mode it won't let me lasso it to drag it down a semi-tone. Oh God I'm really losing it now.
  #6  
Old 2012-09-16, 21:02
reasoner498's Avatar
reasoner498 reasoner498 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandstorm2012
I'm in song mode and it's selected. But now what do I do with it?
In song mode, click once on a single clip once to select it, or Ctrl+click multiple clips, or use the select tool to draw a box and select multiple clips.

Then hit F8, set the transpose to -1 under "Pitch", then click apply. All of the clips selected will be transposed -1, the rest will be unaffected.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tempo change question jfrichards Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2010-10-03 08:34
Vocal pitch change without tempo change syphamusic Phead User Forum (read only) 4 2010-05-22 02:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:11.