Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-09-17, 06:27
prodigi's Avatar
prodigi prodigi is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
possibly latency issue?

im running a 2010 Sony vaio laptop 8gigs ram. it's a speedy lil thing with an i5 that thinks its a quad core. i have a 20" vga monitor hooked up to it for my mixer view. my issue is since reason 6.5 update it really seems to lag while opening file library. reason 6 alone was fast as could be. is this version that much heavier? also while playing around with rack units and stacking synths inside combinators, (just experimenting because i don't know what I'm doing half the time anyway lol) I'll start to hear little clicks of static? wierd! is anyone else having hardware issues like this? i'm trying to find a link to optimize my machine specifically for music creation. thanks in advance for any reponses,

prodigi
__________________
Sony vaio w/Intel i5 m260 chip 8 gigs ram, line6 ux2, oxygen25, peavey sm58 mic,Alvarez masterclass acoustic, ltd ec1000t electric. praying for money to upgrade all electronics


[SIGPIC]
  #2  
Old 2012-09-17, 07:19
platzangst's Avatar
platzangst platzangst is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by prodigi View Post
im running a 2010 Sony vaio laptop 8gigs ram. it's a speedy lil thing with an i5 that thinks its a quad core. i have a 20" vga monitor hooked up to it for my mixer view. my issue is since reason 6.5 update it really seems to lag while opening file library. reason 6 alone was fast as could be. is this version that much heavier? also while playing around with rack units and stacking synths inside combinators, (just experimenting because i don't know what I'm doing half the time anyway lol) I'll start to hear little clicks of static? wierd! is anyone else having hardware issues like this? i'm trying to find a link to optimize my machine specifically for music creation. thanks in advance for any reponses,

prodigi
It seems the Rack Extension feature has, at least for now, added quite a bit of CPU load to Reason. Many people are complaining about increased CPU usage, especially with RE devices. Some of that is predictable (PredatorRE is supposedly quite CPU-hungry, as a result of its (intentional) oversampling), some of it not so much.

Clicks and pops are often signs that Reason is on the verge of exceeding your computer's ability to keep up with processing a tune. Sometimes this can be alleviated by going into Reason's settings and increasing your soundcard/audio interface's latency. A greater latency will allow your CPU more time to catch up with processing a song, but then you may have to adjust for a slight delay in recording live performances.
__________________
Hey go listen to my new album it's almost like music.
Loading SoundCloud…

  #3  
Old 2012-09-17, 08:10
RXTX's Avatar
RXTX RXTX is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 562
Make sure you've updated to the latest release 6.5.1, not the original 6.5 which had quite a few performance bugs.

If it's still clicking, increase the buffer size in Edit->Preferences->Audio.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
latency issue w/ retouchduo, ipad & reason citizengriffith General Forum (read only) 1 2012-07-03 23:53
Advice on latency valmour General Forum (read only) 8 2007-02-06 03:22
ASIO latency issue??? Panther General Forum (read only) 2 2005-09-23 01:26
ASIO latency issue??? Panther General Forum (read only) 0 2005-09-20 12:28
Weird Latency RiotNrrd General Forum (read only) 4 2003-08-20 02:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:08.