Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-09-22, 23:54
ECG101's Avatar
ECG101 ECG101 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 96
reason 6.5 compatible with Mixers?

Hey everyone

I'm working on a home studio and I've been to many other studios in my area and all the studios I've been to I've never seen reason software actually configured with the outer gear (SSL mixers) other then using the speakers. so my question is do I spend money on the mixer I want or do I put that money towards something else because I don't want to spend the money if reason isn't going to be compatible with it.
  #2  
Old 2012-09-23, 02:59
SteveDiverse's Avatar
SteveDiverse SteveDiverse is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,628
Please post specifics on what you want to do and any specific mixers/products you are considering. It would also help if you also post what else you already have (audio interfaces, controllers, etc).

There are many different types of mixers and mixer control surfaces that will offer different functionality with Reason.
__________________

HP Pavillion DV7T-3300 Laptop | i7 Q720 @ 1.6 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win7 Pro 64-bit
m-audio Axiom Pro 61 keyboard controller || iPad2 | RetouchControl DUO | TouchOSC | LoopBe30 MIDI
m-audio Mobile Pre USB (original) audio interface | ASIO4ALL || RØDE NT-3 mic
Reason 6.5.3 || Pulsar | Saturation Knob | Rough Rider | TSAR-1 | Uhbik-A | Re-Tron | Polar | Echobode | Uhbik Q | Uhbik F | Morfin XF | Uhbik S | Uhbik D | Uhbik G | CV Suite Line Processor | wbl5515 | Uhbik P | RE-2A | Radical Piano
  #3  
Old 2012-09-23, 03:22
Dave909's Avatar
Dave909 Dave909 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,411
It´s really beyond me why people would use an audio mixer with Reason as the SSL emulation will outperform most of them. A mixer control surface will be the best option imo
__________________
Check out Dave909
  #4  
Old 2012-09-23, 03:25
omshanti20 omshanti20 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 755
********************

Last edited by omshanti20; 2013-05-10 at 04:39.
  #5  
Old 2012-09-23, 03:37
ECG101's Avatar
ECG101 ECG101 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 96
SteveDiverse... I'm talking about being able to pretty much actually use the mixer channels.. like have a 40-60 track song in reason then be able to throw them on the SSL (or any other mixer) and use it's patch bay and compressors and such.. I'm still looking around and Haven't set my eyes on a mixer yet

I say the SSL because I'm a student at a music school and they have SSL boards there along with out board gear that I would like to use and to record there you would have to use the tie lines witch you would end up going to the patch bay to rout the signal.

Dave909... I'm not saying there bad or anything but thats like saying you would never try the Fret compressor because you only use the M class or the SSL emulation... I just want to be able to use everything that I pay for you know
  #6  
Old 2012-09-23, 03:39
Dave909's Avatar
Dave909 Dave909 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,411
Yeah my point indeed. Don´t spend money on an audio mixer but get a control surface to control the SSL emulation in Reason. It´s way more powerful than any mixer in the affordable range. You will be better off buying a control surface to control it
__________________
Check out Dave909
  #7  
Old 2012-09-23, 03:48
ECG101's Avatar
ECG101 ECG101 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 96
omshanti20:
I understand it was just a question of mine because I work really fast in reason but the school I go to drills pro tools in your head but never want to answer questions on why you can't use the other DAWS.

as for my home studio. I'm not saying I want a powerhouse mixer in my studio but one thats good enough so I don't have to mix in the box all the time.

for the record I don't have a problem with in the box mixing
  #8  
Old 2012-09-23, 03:50
ECG101's Avatar
ECG101 ECG101 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave909 View Post
Yeah my point indeed. Don´t spend money on an audio mixer but get a control surface to control the SSL emulation in Reason. It´s way more powerful than any mixer in the affordable range. You will be better off buying a control surface to control it

I see what surface would you recommend
  #9  
Old 2012-09-23, 03:55
Dave909's Avatar
Dave909 Dave909 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,411
One with as many faders as you can afford really. Behringer has one with automated faders. I know Behringer is crap but as that´s a midi device it won´t transfer their noise into your songs There´s other´s from Mackie but these are more expensive.

http://www.thomann.de/be/behringer_bcf_2000.htm

http://www.thomann.de/be/icon_qcon_ex.htm

http://www.thomann.de/be/icon_icontrols_pro.htm

That´s a few but there´s more, and they all cost less than getting a decent audio mixer which does the sound of the SSL emulation any good
__________________
Check out Dave909
  #10  
Old 2012-09-23, 04:00
ECG101's Avatar
ECG101 ECG101 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave909 View Post
One with as many faders as you can afford really. Behringer has one with automated faders. I know Behringer is crap but as that´s a midi device it won´t transfer their noise into your songs There´s other´s from Mackie but these are more expensive.

thanks I will take a look at some of these could you send me a message with a couple more?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popular Plugins as Combinator Patches NoelGMusic Phead User Forum (read only) 216 2013-09-25 02:12
Learning Reason paskel13 General Forum (read only) 6 2013-03-23 07:58
Why did i buy record?????!!!!!*$ Mathmatech General Forum (read only) 131 2013-01-14 17:02
Reason / DP / OMS Test Results Within... arothman General Forum (read only) 2 2003-03-05 03:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:25.