Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-09-20, 22:42
mahomedbhamjee mahomedbhamjee is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
how many installations?

Hi, How many pc's can I install Reason+Record on? I currently have 2 desktop pcs's and I am in the process of buying a mac book pro. Will I be able to have Reason+Record installed on all my computers? Can I buy additional Ignition keys or is there another way of having a license recognized?
  #2  
Old 2012-09-20, 22:50
koma7's Avatar
koma7 koma7 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,212
You can have reason installed on as many PC's as you want, you can also use Reason on as many PC's as you want, however you cannot use Reason on more than one computer, that being you can't have your licensed copy of reason running on more than one machine, you would have to purchase another license if you wanted to have more than one ignition key or to be able to run Reason on 2 computers or more at once.

That's why I said you can run it on as many as you want, you can always have demo modes setup on all the other computer, for your setup it doesn't sound like you really need more than one license (that is really only for people who run reason twice from two different location, eg. a studio and their home).

I recommend you just install reason on your home computers and laptop, keep your ignition key ready whenever you want to load up a project and that's pretty much all you need it for, whenever you're not at home you can take the ignition key with you and your mac book.

Remember that the demo versions only really limited in that you can't open any of your reason projects or export/bounce any of your project, which isn't really a big deal if you're starting a new track, and is not so much of a problem when it takes two seconds to plug in your ignition key if you did want to load up a project or export something.

Hope this helps.
__________________
██ Electro-acousmatic organiser of sound. # |[ Eigengrau ]|
██ Post-industrial destroyer of form. # |[ Yin Yang Vikings ]|
██ Other Links # |[ Blog ]| # |[ Facebook ]| #
  #3  
Old 2012-09-21, 17:18
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Reason 1-5 can only be installed on two computers at a time. Record as stated above can be installed on as many computers as you like.
  #4  
Old 2012-09-24, 13:22
mahomedbhamjee mahomedbhamjee is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
ok. Thanks to all that replied. Will try the suggestions as indicated. My set up is 2 pc's at home and a (future) portable mac book pro.
  #5  
Old 2012-09-24, 13:23
BonezMcCoy's Avatar
BonezMcCoy BonezMcCoy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahomedbhamjee View Post
ok. Thanks to all that replied. Will try the suggestions as indicated. My set up is 2 pc's at home and a (future) portable mac book pro.
Just remember! You cannot run more than ONE instance of Reason at any one time.
  #6  
Old 2012-09-24, 14:34
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
koma7 was of course talking about Reason 6.x which has the ignition key and not Reason 1-5 as I mentioned above (Reason 6.x has a license similar to Record). As long as you stick to the two installations and only run one at a time you are fine
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Queston on Multiple Installations winder13 General Forum (read only) 3 2004-01-14 16:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:10.