Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-09-24, 15:13
Syva Syva is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 17
mp3 convertion directly from 24bit/96KHz?

Hi,

when I exporting .wav from Reason6.5 I use 24/96 for the output-file.
Than I make a Master with Ozone5 (24/96 as well).

My question is, if I have to Dither it after Ozone5 when I only want to convert it to mp3 not to an Audio-CD-File?

Or can I make a mastered 24/96 .wav and then convert it directly to mp3 without Dithering and save as 16/41?

Is there a quality lost when I Dither?
  #2  
Old 2012-09-24, 15:25
rlubeck's Avatar
rlubeck rlubeck is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 784
If you intend to encode your MP3 in high-quality (24 bit, 192/256/320kbits) you don't need to dither, seeing as you've exported in 24 bit in the first place.

If you're going to encode in a lower quality MP3 (16 bit, 128/160kbits), I suggest you dither with Ozone5.

Same with converting your 24/96 .WAV to 16/44.1, use dither.

All it does is add some low-level noise that'll make bitdegradation less obvious.

24 to 24 = no dither
24 to 16 = dither
__________________
i7 2600 based system, E-MU 1820M, Mackie HR824's, Sennheiser HD600, SM Pro Audio iNano, Akai MPK49, Korg EA-1, Behringer BCR2000.
Rack Extensions: Predator RE, Softube FET Compressor, Softube Trident A-Range, Fxpansion Etch Red, Uhbik-A, Ozone Maximizer, Pulsar, Softube Sat.
  #3  
Old 2012-09-26, 16:52
Syva Syva is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 17
ok, i always make mp3s with 256or320kbps, so i do it right when i dont dither before.

But I dont see any option in WaveLab where I can select 16 or 24 bit for the mp3 outputfile or is this automaticly "in" the file when i convert to higher kbps?
  #4  
Old 2012-09-26, 17:08
normen's Avatar
normen normen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,476
If you want to be sure, check if your mp3 encoder can actually use 24bit/96kHz files or if it simply downsamples it, then you should rather dither&export in 44.1/16bit

Btw, what about your old pretty much same thread here? https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=167839 it also contains the answer to your question
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer

Last edited by normen; 2012-09-26 at 17:10.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mp3 convertion directly from 24bit/96KHz? Syva Music Forum (read only) 8 2012-10-02 15:06
Are Reason 4 files directly compatable with reason 6.02. darkkrystal General Forum (read only) 2 2012-02-21 13:26
Trigger all redrum patterns directly by keyboard ohrobot General Forum (read only) 4 2009-06-23 22:05
does the oxygen 8 have to be plugged directly in computer? heartparts General Forum (read only) 2 2002-08-01 18:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:32.