Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2012-09-25, 17:07
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhansen View Post
Hm.. not exactly sure if a reverb and simply moving a threshold can be compared

I made a Reason setup simulating a sidechain for the saturation knob, you can download it here. Basically they would have to lower the threshold (which isn't exactly what this was built for, you just increase the input gain and distortion).
I'm not comparing here, you just didn't got my pun mate!

You said:

Quote:
You could create this effect already by using a compressor CV output to simultaneously up the input and down the output of the saturation knob..
So I just made a jokey example that you can achieve pretty cool sound with Reason Reverb & don't buy another reverbs as well as you don't even need Saturation Knob at all coz you already has the Scream in Reason!

I'll check your example right away!
  #12  
Old 2012-09-25, 17:14
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
So yes, that's pretty it in your example, but why bothering with devices if it could be just sidechain update, release knob & maybe adding some compression type knob, you know, to expand that Saturation Knob for good!
  #13  
Old 2012-09-25, 17:15
normen's Avatar
normen normen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mate View Post
So yes, that's pretty it in your example, but why bothering with devices if it could be just sidechain update, release knob & maybe adding some compression type knob, you know, to expand that Saturation Knob for good!
Ya sure, I just meant its something that you can really emulate almost 100% in Reason already, as opposed to the TSAR reverbs algo for example
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer
  #14  
Old 2012-09-25, 17:17
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhansen View Post
Ya sure, I just meant its something that you can really emulate almost 100% in Reason already, as opposed to the TSAR reverbs algo for example
Yes it's true about TSAR, you can't emulate them with the RV7000, but I think we understand each other!
  #15  
Old 2012-09-25, 17:18
normen's Avatar
normen normen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mate View Post
Yes it's true about TSAR, you can't emulate them with the RV7000, but I think we understand each other!
Aye ^^
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer
  #16  
Old 2012-09-25, 18:43
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,473
While I don't think a side chain input for the Saturation Knob would be all that useful, a DRY/WET control would be da BOMB IMO - mainly because you can't build one in a Combi because of the latency on the device (latency for a saturation effect?!?… not sure why they added that). :-(
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio scrubbing / granular stuff EditEd4TV Phead User Forum (read only) 35 2010-12-13 02:41
Control Surface Flint32 Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2010-06-11 14:48
New Combinator: EditEd4TV_LiveGrainSweep EditEd4TV Phead User Forum (read only) 41 2010-02-11 02:23


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:01.