Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-09-27, 17:12
ochenk ochenk is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 245
PDT2 Probability Drum Trigger in the RE shop

Hey there.

I just launched a new rack extension in the RE shop. It's a probability drum step sequencer. It's like the step sequencer in Redrum, but instead of 16 buttons that are always on or always off, there are 16 dials where you can set the probabilities of drums being triggered.

The RE is here: http://shop.propellerheads.se/produc...-drum-trigger/

There are two videos to help explain what it is and how to use it. And it's 9 bucks.

Let me know if you have any questions, or thoughts on how to use it and improve on it.

Thanks!
  #2  
Old 2012-09-27, 17:19
dub08's Avatar
dub08 dub08 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4,829
Hey we're in the user forum right now talking about it!

Thank you for this one, instant buy!
__________________
www.008refills.com 15 FREE Reason ReFills in the -008' Newsletter
  #3  
Old 2012-09-27, 19:04
kefkekeyser kefkekeyser is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
I checked the walk-through video and noticed that there is no way to change the loop length (that would be useful to generate polyrhythms). Adding a way to change the loop length would make this an instant buy.
  #4  
Old 2012-09-27, 19:11
Michael1985's Avatar
Michael1985 Michael1985 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 587
I like the little device! Is velocity and the probabiltiy hardwired whit eachother? If so, it should be seperated because maybe I want a low probabilty with a higher velocity.

I dont understand the thing with the seed, maybe it is because of my bad English, but could you explain exactly what the seed knob does? Is it random furthermore, random in a "special way" or how?
  #5  
Old 2012-09-27, 20:25
ochenk ochenk is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 245
Thanks.

There's a big thread on the User forum going on. https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=168034

Quote:
Originally Posted by kefkekeyser View Post
I checked the walk-through video and noticed that there is no way to change the loop length (that would be useful to generate polyrhythms). Adding a way to change the loop length would make this an instant buy.
I'm hearing this in the other thread as well. I'll have to think about how to implement this.

Here's a good explanation of the seed concept from the other thread: https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...3&postcount=29
  #6  
Old 2012-09-27, 21:03
digthatbeat's Avatar
digthatbeat digthatbeat is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 160
I bough it, but still thinking it lack couple things:
1. Export notes from Re to lanes on main Reason sequencer.
2. This is some king of sequencer so it should have Pattern banks instead of save system.
3. Option to choose between fixed "level" to add random "level" with single button click. Now nobs only sending how much is "level" comes out. Instead of how much (1-127) is sent through CV, it can be sending random signal by amount of randomness by how much nob is turned on.
Sorry for my English :]
  #7  
Old 2012-09-27, 23:47
joseydeclaire joseydeclaire is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 680
bought it (2 units for 2 licenses)

Following modus will be nice:

a)
25%: each 4th bar the note will be played
50%: each 2th bar the note will be played

b)
modus: own tempo / not synced

c)
patterns are played half time (so that each step is not 16 but 8th)
patterns are played 4th time (so that each step is not 16 but 4th)

d)
like digthatbeat told - he´s right

e)
mode: play forward and backward / play backward


f)
link lines (so that there are 32 steps instead of 2* 16)

g)
gate in: each gatein signal, your unit goes one step forward (or backward if you implement new feature forward / backward)

or mode:
gate in: your unit starts from first step again



thanks
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Software working with:
* MAC & PC *: Reason / Recycle / Reason Ess. (7.01 / 2 / 2.01), Ableton Live-Suite 8, Harrison Mixbus 2.3.1, Reaper, ReNoise, MuTools, Energy-XT, MOTU BPM (with / and all Plugs from MOTU), MakeMusic Finale 2012, NanoStudio - * PC *: Samplitude Pro (Favo on PC !), Cakewalk: Project 5 / Sonar XPro, FL-Studio (complete with many of those Plugs) - * MAC *: LogicPro 9.18, MOTU DP 7.24 (My Favo on MAC) - * Apple IOS-Musicsoftware *: simply All ...
* VST/AU *: All MOTU-Plugs, all AAS-Plugs, NI FM8 & P5 & B4, Arturia Moog V & MiniMoog & CS80 & Arp 2600, ImpOscar, Korg digital & analog Edition, CMS Hall & Masterplugs, Cakewalk DimensionPro & Rapture, Waldorf Edition, Synapse Dune and more
* REFILLS *: Over 98 GB of "Original"-ReFills (Props / Soundcells / Reasonbanks / SonicR. / Mirosl. / SonicF. / Synth X ... ... Mostly use own programmed Sounds) - * RE´s *: Some ...
* - Propellerhead-User since ReBirth (Steinberg), Reason-/ReCycle-User since V.1 - * / since 1986 Progr. / Develop. / BTest / Brainst

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by joseydeclaire; 2012-09-27 at 23:52.
  #8  
Old 2012-09-27, 23:55
one1byke's Avatar
one1byke one1byke is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 635
Great Product, Ochenk!

I was just thinking that - along with digthatbeat's suggestions (#1 is solid) -

- for the device to replaces the Step Sequencer controls, it may need to be able to change Tempo Resolution, as well as steps. And,
- the flam/double-triple hit isn't a bad idea to include to enhance the Ghost/Ambience hits. (like mutonic's (rolls etc)

It's pretty unbelievable how much potential this device has for development over time.

Congrats and Great Idea/WorK!

O1B.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mutonic-fpp.jpg (23.3 KB, 21 views)
  #9  
Old 2012-09-28, 06:50
spypoint spypoint is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Looks like a great utility and I'm testing it before I buy. I basically paste redrum patterns to the track and I can't quite figure out how to use PDT2 to do that. I looked at the videos and I don't think I missed the trick but it's late and I'm slow. Could you explain exactly how to paste a randomized segment to the track?
  #10  
Old 2012-09-28, 16:35
ljekio's Avatar
ljekio ljekio is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 967
Quote:
- for the device to replaces the Step Sequencer controls, it may need to be able to change Tempo Resolution, as well as steps.
Yes and yes. Control of number of steps is serious need. And tempo resolution too, of course.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rack Extension | Ochen K - Probability Drum Trigger NoelGMusic Phead User Forum (read only) 207 2013-04-04 10:01
Can an analog drum track trigger Kong? dmcsst Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2012-07-19 23:38
Using a audio source to trigger a drum machine with CV Upright Phead User Forum (read only) 11 2011-10-14 09:41
Best Way To Create Drum Bus(s) in Record? gwmullins Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2009-09-15 16:43
Drum trigger overlapping??? speedamp Music Forum (read only) 0 2002-08-29 16:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:19.