Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

View Poll Results: Would you like to have a faster Browser ??
YES !!! 384 94.35%
NO !!! 23 5.65%
Voters: 407. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-10-04, 17:15
devilfish's Avatar
devilfish devilfish is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,076
Question Faster File Browser !!!!!

An example.
I open the file browser on Thor.
It takes about 15-20 seconds until the window opens.
The next step is to choose a different directory.
This will take 15-20 seconds again.

Same in NN19 if I want to load a WAV file.
I have directories with 1000 Kick Drums / Snaredrums / hihats and more
It takes 20 seconds and more to view the contents of these directories,
where my wavefiles are in.

Selecting the main folder (c: \ Program Files \ Propp .. \ Reason)
always takes much too long! (20 sec)

or is this normal (in Reason)?????


With Cubase and Fruityloops this goes in 250ms?!


Last edited by devilfish; 2013-08-28 at 06:12.
  #2  
Old 2012-10-04, 17:38
charlycharlzz's Avatar
charlycharlzz charlycharlzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,981
it's normal in Reason .... yhea I know I'm Swiss so I can tell when it's sloooooooooooooow!
ssd or spliting in smaller files are one of the solutions !
in wich place you have them sounds ? it may be a wrong place watch out !
__________________

It's like gambling !!!
but you get something out the slot everytime you click ! lol

▓▓▓
dಠಠb
_(Θ)_

No Respect for the Talion Law , I whant it All !
  #3  
Old 2012-10-05, 11:38
devilfish's Avatar
devilfish devilfish is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,076
okay, I'm not surprised about that.
the place can´t be wrong.. in FL-Studio its fast (250ms to open folders and show the content, cubase also.)

to open another song, it takes 27 seconds!
just to open the window. after clicking on file open to choose a song.
(not to load the song)!!

all my Refills and Patches are in the Reason Folder. ~80GB on Refill stuff and Patches.

My Samples are on C:\SamplingCD\ XXX
sorted in (i think) 50-60 subfolders (Kicks/Snares/hihats/bongos/Congas/Tablas/Rim/Crashes/bass/pads/leads/etc.pp.)
round about 180GB one shot samples ;-)

spliting is no solution for me..
but an Solid State Drive (SSD)

Mushkin Chronos 2,5" SSD 480 GB for 294€
okay i think i have to order one.. or two^^

and it is sure that it goes faster then? with a SSD ????
this is no "reason progamm-code" problem ??
  #4  
Old 2012-10-05, 12:20
digthatbeat's Avatar
digthatbeat digthatbeat is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 160
If you will have less files in folder Reason opens faster. I think its doing something with file cash.
  #5  
Old 2012-10-06, 05:08
konsume242 konsume242 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilfish View Post
An example.
I open the file browser on Thor.
It takes about 15-20 seconds until the window opens.
The next step is to choose a different directory.
This will take 15-20 seconds again.

Same in NN19 if I want to load a WAV file.
I have directories with 1000 Kick Drums / Snaredrums / hihats and more
It takes 20 seconds and more to view the contents of these directories,
where my wavefiles are in.

Selecting the main folder (c: \ Program Files \ Propp .. \ Reason)
always takes much too long! (20 sec)

or is this normal (in Reason)?????


With Cubase and Fruityloops this goes in 250ms?!
Yes please fix this its really,really slow especially on the first browse.
And pretty dang slow all the way! +1

I have a fairly new system and nothing helps, of course its fast with just the reason sound banks but that's a little limited isn't it?
Props please look into this.
Thanks
  #6  
Old 2012-10-06, 12:01
raymondh's Avatar
raymondh raymondh is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,069
I also found the browser slow. +1 on adding a SSD.

SSDs are not cheap, but will transform the way you use Reason. Loading the program too, when you just want a quick fix.

But keep your music creations on a HDD. SSDs are not as reliable.
  #7  
Old 2012-10-06, 19:58
MarcSwing's Avatar
MarcSwing MarcSwing is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 97
I have i7 computer and 8gb ram AND a SSD HD and well its faster but still to slow fore my me.
  #8  
Old 2012-10-06, 22:44
devilfish's Avatar
devilfish devilfish is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,076
So it is normal that this is so slow? and in version 6.5 yet?

guys! changes the times! very quickly! that's not true?

to load a wav or other patchfile takes 2x20sec ...???????!!!!!!!!!

I'm sorry, but this is ridiculous .. I love this program .. There is nothing to complain about .. but this is really ridiculous!
  #9  
Old 2012-10-15, 17:06
devilfish's Avatar
devilfish devilfish is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,076
I'm sorry,

bit i have to push this post up again.

that sucks with the slow browser!
  #10  
Old 2012-10-15, 17:21
jlgrimes jlgrimes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilfish View Post
I'm sorry,

bit i have to push this post up again.

that sucks with the slow browser!
Agreed. It is slow for me as well.

I'd imagine it is slower for people who use a lot of samples and probably a lot faster for folks who mainy program their synths and use the factory soundbank.

But Reason has the slowest browser I have worked with out of all the other DAWs.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zero-X (BeatCreator) News item about REX2 format JohnVulich General Forum (read only) 22 2013-01-07 20:24
Slow Loading of File Browser jacobh Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2006-02-12 04:35


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:04.