Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-10-05, 19:20
mrjumps mrjumps is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
audio from microphone not coming through

hello

i have plugged my microphone into my computer and i can record myself on audacity , but it doesn't appear to be working on reason .

is there some routine or set up i need to do ?

at the moment i am creating an audio track , and pressing record , but when talking into the mic it doesn't register on the mixer levels and no audio is recorded .

any help is much appreciated

cheers
  #2  
Old 2012-10-05, 19:51
RXTX's Avatar
RXTX RXTX is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 562
Edit->Preferences->Audio:

What soundcard and driver is used? Is the mic selected in Active Input Channels?

Rack->Hardware Interface->Audio I/O:

Do any of the channels light up when you talk into the mic?
  #3  
Old 2012-10-05, 19:54
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Reason requires an ASIO driver for your audio interface to be able to record.
  #4  
Old 2012-10-05, 20:07
mrjumps mrjumps is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
i just have the basic sound card that came with the computer , its a DX Primary Sound Driver
audio I/O is green
no lights appear on the channels when talking into the microphone

thanks for the reply
  #5  
Old 2012-10-05, 20:11
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
You could try ASIO4ALL (http://www.asio4all.com/) as a workaround
  #6  
Old 2012-10-05, 20:16
mrjumps mrjumps is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
thanks n0ahg , i might give that a go
but i'll probrably get a new soundcard
  #7  
Old 2012-10-05, 20:24
mrjumps mrjumps is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
any advice on what i need to look for when buying a soundcard , i dont require a really good one as i'm just messing around at the moment

how will i know it uses asio ?
  #8  
Old 2012-10-05, 20:27
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
The best I can recommend is to post a link to any sound cards you find here and people will be able to offer advice. Most sound cards intended for music production should come with ASIO whereas a sound card intended for gaming won't.
  #9  
Old 2012-10-05, 20:34
mrjumps mrjumps is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
cheers n0ahg
  #10  
Old 2012-10-05, 20:48
charlycharlzz's Avatar
charlycharlzz charlycharlzz is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,955
You could get the propellerhead sound card called ballance it's suppose to be good !
__________________

It's like gambling !!!
but you get something out the slot everytime you click ! lol

▓▓▓
dಠಠb
_(Θ)_

No Respect for the Talion Law , I whant it All !
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No audio input for samson microphone on MAC OS? Dabllr23 General Forum (read only) 1 2012-03-03 21:39
o/t Audio Graveyard? Resurrections... More to come? hwgr Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2012-02-11 15:39
Audio Feedback and Audible tone of HD accessing data kilohurtz Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2010-11-01 21:43
New Combinator: EditEd4TV_LiveGrainSweep EditEd4TV Phead User Forum (read only) 41 2010-02-11 02:23


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:17.