Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-10-05, 21:06
m0thr4 m0thr4 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 17
Smile Allow trial Rack Extension license to be stored on hardware authentication device

Currently, if you want to try a Rack Extension, you have to unplug whatever license key hardware you have, restart Reason, and authenticate over the Internet. If that hardware happens to be Balance, it's extremely inconvenient to keep having to unplug it and plug it back in.

The only solution for users like myself then, is not to store my license on Balance and always authenticate via the Internet... but then if for any reason my Internet connection is down one day, I'm completely stuck and cannot use Reason at all.

Simple solution: Please make it possible to store the temporary trial license for Rack Extensions on the hardware license device (USB dongle or Balance).
  #2  
Old 2012-10-06, 02:53
particlejunkie's Avatar
particlejunkie particlejunkie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by m0thr4 View Post
you have to unplug whatever license key hardware you have, restart Reason...
I don't have to unplug my ignition key to use Reason with internet verification. Are you sure you need to unplug your key?

It'd be nice if there was a way to put trial licenses on the key, but I bet there's a reason they don't allow it, and it might even be a good one.
__________________
www.soundcloud.com/particlejunkie

Brought to you by Carl's Jr.
  #3  
Old 2012-10-25, 20:07
Ceefax Ceefax is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Quote:
I don't have to unplug my ignition key to use Reason with internet verification. Are you sure you need to unplug your key?
Is the reason you don't have to unplug your key because you haven't registered your license to that key? I'm a balance user and I have the same issue as the OP.

Also, I don't like just wrenching out the USB cable from balance - and I can't "Eject Balance" because Windows 7 tells me that it's in use. Windows is right, it's my primary sound device - and so the trial RE's become even more obnoxious.
As of the time of writing this, if I want to trial a RE, I have to shut down my computer, unplug balance, boot up, load reason, verify via the cloud and then plug balance back in.

That convoluted process actually makes the final step of plugging in Balance, completely redundant, as Reason will still only utilize my DX audio drivers - the result of which, is terrible latency. Here's a second vote for the Props to fix this, as the trial RE's are virtually useless to me until something changes.

Perhaps adding a menu option to "sync via cloud" would solve the problem, whilst avoiding the security issues that offline trial RE's would imply.

Last edited by Ceefax; 2012-11-04 at 17:14. Reason: facepalm
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rack Extension idea Rhypht General Forum (read only) 11 2012-10-09 23:00
Get MIDI control of a device in Rack View benb Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2007-01-21 16:15


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:56.