Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-10-16, 10:28
dvdrtldg's Avatar
dvdrtldg dvdrtldg is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 556
Tempo/audio file question

I'm working on a session at 120, but want to stick a bass loop in there that's going at 150.

So I open a new session, dial the tempo up to 150, create my bass loop, copy it out to about 5 mins' duration, then export the thing as an audio file.

Go back to my 120 mix, create audio track, stick the 150 bass line in there... and it's running at 120.

What am I doing wrong?
  #2  
Old 2012-10-16, 11:31
Benedict's Avatar
Benedict Benedict is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,927
Yep, take your project up to 150bpm.

Insert Bass Loop (one block will do)

Reset tempo to 120bpm

So long as your audio clip is set to Stretch then it should all be in time/tune. If it doesn't stretch then right click and set the option.

That's about it unless you have some other thing going on.

__________________
Benedict Roff-Marsh
- - - - - - - - - -
Music: Bandcamp
ReFills: OSC + Filter - Super Mono-Synth
  #3  
Old 2012-10-16, 11:59
illCarl's Avatar
illCarl illCarl is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvdrtldg View Post
I'm working on a session at 120, but want to stick a bass loop in there that's going at 150.

So I open a new session, dial the tempo up to 150, create my bass loop, copy it out to about 5 mins' duration, then export the thing as an audio file.

Go back to my 120 mix, create audio track, stick the 150 bass line in there... and it's running at 120.

What am I doing wrong?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benedict View Post
Yep, take your project up to 150bpm.

Insert Bass Loop (one block will do)

Reset tempo to 120bpm

So long as your audio clip is set to Stretch then it should all be in time/tune. If it doesn't stretch then right click and set the option.

That's about it unless you have some other thing going on.

If I got this right you want to run the track at 120 BPM but want to keep the bass running at 150? If so, do following:

open a new track and set bpm to 150
create your bass loop
if it's created via midi info, bounce it to wav. If it's already a wav file, skip this step
right click on the wav and disable stretch
bring bpm down to 120
do the rest of your track

That should work
  #4  
Old 2012-10-16, 12:49
dvdrtldg's Avatar
dvdrtldg dvdrtldg is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 556
Perfect - thanks guys.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zero-X (BeatCreator) News item about REX2 format JohnVulich General Forum (read only) 22 2013-01-07 20:24
(*.ms) file wont load, maybe needs to be converted? VBEST1 General Forum (read only) 11 2010-01-15 16:19
Finding specific sound from Demo Redrum file masonjames Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2007-03-03 22:24
question about file locations..mac users...ed maybe... laCandela Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2005-06-24 03:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:19.