Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-10-25, 00:15
Mosobu Mosobu is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
A ghost mode in R6 ?

Hi Everybody,

There was a time when I was writing music with FL Studio. One features that I miss - though I like Reason better - is the ghost mode of FL. This features shows an other line in gray color to help you compose over that part. My question is: does such features exist in Reason 6 and I'm not aware of it ? Thank you!
  #2  
Old 2012-10-25, 09:03
paulm0000's Avatar
paulm0000 paulm0000 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 154
Add new note lane would do that trick woud it not?

or have i misunderstood what you mean
__________________
www.soundcloud.com/eskobarr

Last edited by paulm0000; 2012-10-25 at 14:49.
  #3  
Old 2012-10-25, 09:18
PsyTale's Avatar
PsyTale PsyTale is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 801
I am sure i have been able to achieve this once in reason about a few years back when record first came out. But i forgot how i did it, i emailed support about it then but they never replied. So basically it should be possible (something with multiple lanes and then some option that needed to be selected).

Anyway if you ever find out, please send me a pvt message with the answer
  #4  
Old 2012-10-25, 11:49
LABONERECORDINGS's Avatar
LABONERECORDINGS LABONERECORDINGS is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 506
Check blocks out... they can create ghost equivalents (to me anyway)

1) create a few instruments
2) create a block
3) edit that black, rename it too if you want, put notes & automation on any of the tracks
4) go to Song mode
5) in top top lane is 'blocks' - draw a block like a clip - you have 32 to choose from
6) when you draw your block-clip on the sequencer, you will notice that the block can be repeated when you extend past it's original length.. so say you have edited within the block a 4 bar loop, when you draw in song mode on the sequencer a block-clip size 5 bars, you get bars 1 to 4 of your block + bar 1 of block repeated - sort of joins the blocks together.
7) now look in your sequencer and you would see a vertical coloured section (lighter version of the block) and also the notes within that block 'ghosted' on the sequencer!!
8) to mute sections, you can simply draw an empty clip over the top of the ghosts to prevent playing

neat huh?
  #5  
Old 2012-10-25, 12:31
PsyTale's Avatar
PsyTale PsyTale is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by LABONERECORDINGS View Post
Check blocks out... they can create ghost equivalents (to me anyway)

1) create a few instruments
2) create a block
3) edit that black, rename it too if you want, put notes & automation on any of the tracks
4) go to Song mode
5) in top top lane is 'blocks' - draw a block like a clip - you have 32 to choose from
6) when you draw your block-clip on the sequencer, you will notice that the block can be repeated when you extend past it's original length.. so say you have edited within the block a 4 bar loop, when you draw in song mode on the sequencer a block-clip size 5 bars, you get bars 1 to 4 of your block + bar 1 of block repeated - sort of joins the blocks together.
7) now look in your sequencer and you would see a vertical coloured section (lighter version of the block) and also the notes within that block 'ghosted' on the sequencer!!
8) to mute sections, you can simply draw an empty clip over the top of the ghosts to prevent playing

neat huh?
Very neat, but not what i meant. It was a setting and had something to do with lanes.

This will be a good workaround though
  #6  
Old 2012-10-25, 23:37
Mosobu Mosobu is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks for the answers guys! Gonna try your solution LABONERECORDINGS!
  #7  
Old 2012-10-26, 01:04
Redster930's Avatar
Redster930 Redster930 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 57
What he means is being able to superimpose a separate midi track over another which is "ghosted" behind the first and edit the second.

This is really useful as it means you can for example exactly match the kick drum on your drum track with the downbeat bass note on the bass track.

I don't think this is possible in Reason at the moment, but I could be wrong!

It would also be really useful if you could just open all the note lanes in a channel in the key editor on the same screen so you can visually align notes.
__________________
Songs are never complete, only abandoned.
  #8  
Old 2012-10-27, 01:00
Mosobu Mosobu is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redster930 View Post
What he means is being able to superimpose a separate midi track over another which is "ghosted" behind the first and edit the second.

This is really useful as it means you can for example exactly match the kick drum on your drum track with the downbeat bass note on the bass track.

I don't think this is possible in Reason at the moment, but I could be wrong!

It would also be really useful if you could just open all the note lanes in a channel in the key editor on the same screen so you can visually align notes.
That's exactly what I was asking, thanks for the reformulation! You put it in a much clearer way
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason RAM usage in Rewire mode. Disturbing Discovery! Dorylobel General Forum (read only) 4 2010-01-29 01:49
Nightmare selecting in new sequencer whyteo Phead User Forum (read only) 30 2007-10-19 13:30
Song Mode Vs. Pattern Mode - Groove goes away!! zalatiel General Forum (read only) 2 2002-10-26 22:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:17.