Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-10-26, 16:44
Tomg's Avatar
Tomg Tomg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 80
Exclamation No go with ignition key after (4 months)

This is getting a "little" frustrating.
I've emailed the support team over and over, with no replies after the initial, and may I add, many, but alas non working suggestions.
And I know my situation isn't unique, nothing weird with my setup, every software I have ever bought with dongles, or online registration (Adobe creative cloud, to name one) works without a hitch, except Reason and its archaic Ignition key protocol.

I would like a solution to this so I can use what I paid for, I am your client, not your buddy, bro, or other arbitrary pet idiom. Treat me like a paying customer that have an issue with the product he bought from you.

Friendly

T
  #2  
Old 2012-10-26, 17:23
MattiasHG's Avatar
MattiasHG MattiasHG is offline
Propellerhead
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomg View Post
This is getting a "little" frustrating.
I've emailed the support team over and over, with no replies after the initial, and may I add, many, but alas non working suggestions.
And I know my situation isn't unique, nothing weird with my setup, every software I have ever bought with dongles, or online registration (Adobe creative cloud, to name one) works without a hitch, except Reason and its archaic Ignition key protocol.

I would like a solution to this so I can use what I paid for, I am your client, not your buddy, bro, or other arbitrary pet idiom. Treat me like a paying customer that have an issue with the product he bought from you.

Friendly

T
Hey Tom,

Your case is actually quite rare - we've never seen a case where our site doesn't see the Ignition Key after the phrem association has been sorted out. One other thing you can try is this:

1. Close authorizer
2. Open a DOS prompt and type "phrem:version?1" without the citation marks

If Authorizer 2 is opening, that's a good sign. If not the association is borked and this could be a fix: https://www.propellerheads.se/suppor...xing_phrem_win

As you wrote in your support mail, since Firefox tries to open the phrem protocol but can't associate it with a program you should be able to associate it manually with Authorizer 2.

I'm really, really sorry for the time this is taking! It's been bounced between support and dev department and was lost in translation for a while.

Please also keep in mind that you can use internet verification while you wait so hopefully this isn't keeping you from making music.
__________________
  #3  
Old 2012-10-26, 19:35
Tomg's Avatar
Tomg Tomg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 80
The Dos approach didnt work.

Checked the link:
So I used Firefox and logged in, clicked manage licenses, and get this:
The address wasn't understood

"Firefox doesn't know how to open this address, because the protocol (phrem) isn't associated with any program.

You might need to install other software to open this address."

But no way of associate the (phrem) to any program...I assume if it did, I would be out of the weeds....

Anyone?
  #4  
Old 2012-10-26, 19:50
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomg View Post
The Dos approach didnt work.
When you attempted the DOS command, did Authorizer 2 open?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomg View Post
Checked the link:
So I used Firefox and logged in, clicked manage licenses, and get this:
The address wasn't understood

"Firefox doesn't know how to open this address, because the protocol (phrem) isn't associated with any program.

You might need to install other software to open this address."

But no way of associate the (phrem) to any program...I assume if it did, I would be out of the weeds....

Anyone?
Try Chrome? Also, try logging out of your Propellerhead account, clear all cookies/cache, restart your router and/or modem, restart your computer, reinstall your browser (or a new one), then try logging into your account and managing your licenses? Also, try another USB port. Try all your USB ports.
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
  #5  
Old 2012-10-27, 01:31
Tomg's Avatar
Tomg Tomg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnochLight View Post
When you attempted the DOS command, did Authorizer 2 open?

No

Try Chrome? Also, try logging out of your Propellerhead account, clear all cookies/cache, restart your router and/or modem, restart your computer, reinstall your browser (or a new one), then try logging into your account and managing your licenses? Also, try another USB port. Try all your USB ports.
I've tried all those (Chrome,Firefox, Netscape, Explorer), over and over...to the point where it's extremely disappointing.
  #6  
Old 2012-10-27, 02:48
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomg View Post
I've tried all those (Chrome,Firefox, Netscape, Explorer), over and over...to the point where it's extremely disappointing.
Perhaps a defective Ignition Key..
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
  #7  
Old 2012-11-02, 02:19
Tomg's Avatar
Tomg Tomg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 80
Not defective at all, R6 sees the ignition key fine, Prophead site however....
  #8  
Old 2012-11-02, 09:31
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Sounds like your phrem association is borked or you have the wrong version of Authorizer installed.
  #9  
Old 2012-11-02, 09:53
danny_f's Avatar
danny_f danny_f is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,414
Tom, did you take part in the Reason 6.5 beta?
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #10  
Old 2012-11-02, 12:02
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0ahg View Post
Sounds like your phrem association is borked or you have the wrong version of Authorizer installed.
That was going to be my next suggestion. Multiple versions of Authorizer or the wrong version installed will also demonstrate similar symptoms what the OP is describing.
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ignition key ... ignition ... ignite .... nothing!!!!!!! marcustoni Phead User Forum (read only) 35 2013-03-09 22:09
problems with registration on ignition key rgoss General Forum (read only) 7 2013-01-13 17:01
Ignition Key Driver Installation Failed comafilament Phead User Forum (read only) 14 2011-02-09 10:04
Windows 7 - Ignition Key - Not Detected with 1.0.1 update meowsqueak Phead User Forum (read only) 16 2010-12-31 05:47
66 hours... how will you spend them? blank General Forum (read only) 49 2003-05-06 15:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:13.