Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-10-25, 00:11
crossoverr crossoverr is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Kong wiring techniques

Propellerhead you need a forum app btw

anyways im just curious as to how all you other producers etc wire up your kong. I recently was trying to figure out a way to make a template setup for projects.In my new setup, all the drums, Hi hats, etc all in there own proper frequency range through reasons built in mixer in Reason 6.5 with effects all routed from the master bus, so a slight turn of the Mixer knobs and turning on the coresponding effect number Voila! greatness!!

Any other ways that you think could potentially be better and less time consuming? feel free to share your thoughts. BTW my main type of production is Hiphop/Top 40

Let me know
  #2  
Old 2012-10-25, 13:11
sh73888's Avatar
sh73888 sh73888 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 296
I prefer to run my drum samples individually through an NN19 for full manipulation control. I do not like the way the Kong colors the sound. I did not notice this so much until I went to 24bit audio on my VRM Box. The effects in Kong are available outside of Kong individually and they sound richer, plus you can only have one setting for each effect for all the drum samples in Kong - with automation available but that would change the effect for every sample using that effect. AKA very limiting imho.
  #3  
Old 2012-10-25, 13:12
sh73888's Avatar
sh73888 sh73888 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 296
This means in a typical track I could have 20 NN19s for drums alone though, with accompanying effects chains.
  #4  
Old 2012-10-26, 02:06
crossoverr crossoverr is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
oh, so you map your sounds individually through each key?
  #5  
Old 2012-10-26, 07:59
BrrrPeoples's Avatar
BrrrPeoples BrrrPeoples is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,255
I like to wire my Kong up so that every pad has it's own channel. I did a video on this a year or so ago (which needs to be updated soon due to some old info)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZUCbEey9xQ

and my template can be downloaded here if you want it:
https://www.box.com/s/tqxr8fhcbvdkcd5haeup
  #6  
Old 2012-10-26, 14:58
sh73888's Avatar
sh73888 sh73888 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 296
Well you could do that, or you can load your sample in the middle browser part, not the left part, make sure that is empty or else when you map the trigger note in the sequencer, both the wav sample and a C3 long note will play. But then you essentially have the same automation parameters and more than the octo rex player, but for any wav file - drums/percs, vocals, bass/arp samples if you use those. Then you have unlimited triggering possibilities in your sequencer, unlimited start/stop/reverse ability via sample start knob and FW/BW option on the nn19 top right and in the middle blue browser key section, respectively. Play the C3 for regular pitch. Or you can make funky rythmic patterns with samples just playing pitch based midi riffs, etc. Endless possibilities.
  #7  
Old 2012-10-26, 17:51
juno106user's Avatar
juno106user juno106user is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 490
I use my own drum samples more often then the presets. Setting it up can take a few minutes but I will generally create a Kong with just a few Kicks, snares and hats for my main beat. I will then set up another Kong (always inside a new combinator) with percussive sounds. They will ultimately play together in the track but they are treated like 2 different instruments. Again, I have a limited amount of sounds in the 2nd kong. I tend to use no more than about 6 sounds in each kong. I label the first as "beat", the 2nd as "percussion", then next as "toms" (or whatever) I like to parallel compress my signal (especially on the main beat Kong) using an M Class Maximizer for punch. I regularly o/p a snare separately and run that through a big reverb using no pre-delay for that dub sound. (my thing!)

Finally, I will move all of the tracks on the main mixer that have drum/percussive elements to the same area so that they are in one area when mixing. Hopefully groups will be an addition in releases to come!
  #8  
Old 2012-10-26, 18:08
gwynebiau's Avatar
gwynebiau gwynebiau is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by juno106user View Post
I like to parallel compress my signal (especially on the main beat Kong) using an M Class Maximizer for punch.
I'm not an expert on sidechaining, but do a lot of people use a Maximizer on the sidechain? EQ and a compressor (possibly along with other effects) seems to be the more common thing, and I would think doing that and adding a Maximizer to the recombined signal would more effective at giving you a good punch. Am I wrong?
  #9  
Old 2012-10-26, 19:02
juno106user's Avatar
juno106user juno106user is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 490
I think it's a matter of what you like using. You can use a compressor and that may be a more common choice for some. I like using the maximizer whenever I can, It's simple to use and makes things sound punchy to my ears! I don't tend to use EQ as a rule unless it sounds like it needs it.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
setting up a kong combi - with aux sends modecai Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2012-07-17 16:23
Kong Stinks and Here's Why Geneyus6 Phead User Forum (read only) 33 2012-06-02 17:10
Kong Stinks and Here's Why Geneyus6 General Forum (read only) 84 2012-05-25 19:06


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:45.